Women's Footy

SA U16 Girls Team – Game 1

2024 SA U16 Girls Leaders (L to R) Miyu Endersby (Vice Captain), Emma Charlton (Captain), Layla Vizgaudis (Emerging Leader). Picture - Cory Sutton


South Adelaide’s Emma Charlton has been selected as the South Australian U16 Girls captain ahead of Sunday’s opening clash with Victoria Metro at Prospect Oval.

Charlton, who made her Hostplus SANFLW League debut with the Panthers in Round 3, will have a vital role for the Croweaters playing through the midfield.

The 15-year-old will receive support from Central District defender Miyu Endersby as vice-captain and fellow Panther Layla Vizgaudis as an emerging leader.

To be coached by last year’s title-winning mentor Bek McMahon, the Croweaters will begin their AFL U16 Girls National Championship defence at 10am as part of the weekend’s Gather Round festivities.

Norwood ruck Kate Alexander, West Adelaide defender Emily Mableson and North Adelaide forward Lucy Reddaway have also mixed it with the mature-agers at SANFLW League level this year.

In the coaches box, McMahon will be assisted by an all-female coaching panel with Emma Sampson (outside midfielders) acting as lead assistant, alongside Brianna Arthur (inside midfielders), Talia Radan (defenders) and Kelly Barltrop (forwards).

The Game 1 contest, which will be a curtain-raiser for the SANFLW All-Stars Match, will be live-streamed via the AFL Play YouTube Channel.

South Australia will tackle Western Australia in Game 2 at Thebarton Oval on Sunday April 14.

2024 SA U16 Girls Leaders have some fun. (L to R) Layla Vizgaudis, Emma Charlton, Miyu Endersby. Picture – Cory Sutton

SA U16 Girls Team - Game 1

F: Lucy Moore (Eagles), Taya Maxwell (South), Lucy Reddaway (North)

HF: Jyerah Newchurch (Central), Polly Turner (North), Charlee Brooksby (Norwood)

C: Skout Young (Sturt), Elke Cameron (Norwood), Tara Lord (Central)

HB: Emily Mableson (West), Miyu Endersby (Central), Sarah Deed (West)

B: Sienna Aldridge (West), Charlotte Copson (Sturt), Neveah Ebert (North)


R: Kate Alexander (Norwood), Emma Charlton (South), Layla Vizgaudis (South)

INT: Georgie Fielder (Glenelg), Demi Holloway (Central), Caitlin Hardin (North), Maia Freemantle (Eagles), Erin Conn (Sturt)

EMG: Lillian Thomas (Norwood), Iris Newman (North)

COACH: Bek McMahon

Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.