Footy Fix

Round 7 SANFL Footy Fix


Welcome to the Round 7 SANFL Footy Fix, find out all of the latest from the Statewide Super League and U18 Torrens University Cup.

Round 7 Match Review Panel

Sturt defender Byron Sumner has accepted a $200 fine and reprimand with an early guilty plea for engaging in rough conduct with West’s Ken Karpany at City Mazda Stadium on Friday night.

Byron Sumner (Sturt) – Rough Conduct (Dangerous Tackle)

Conduct: Careless

Impact: Low

Contact: High

Base Sanction: 1 Match

Early Guilty Plea: $200 fine and reprimand (Accepted)

Round 7 Powerade Breakthrough Player Nominees

Brayden Kirk (North) – The emerging North wingman racked up 20 disposals, seven marks and two tackles in just his second League match this season.

Cameron Taheny (Norwood) – Playing just his second League game, the impressive teenager had six shots on goal for a return of 3.3 while also collecting 13 disposals and seven marks.

Cooper Gaffney (Eagles) – Tallied 14 disposals and four marks as he played a role across half-back in the Eagles’ important victory against the Redlegs.

The Round 7 Powerade Breakthrough Player will be revealed during Channel 7’s telecast of the Eagles v South Adelaide match on Saturday June 1 from 2.30pm.

Round 7 Torrens Uni Cup MVP Nominee

The Round 7 Torrens Uni Cup MVP nominee is Glenelg’s Reid Kuller. Originally from the West Gambier Football Club, Kuller racked up 32 disposals, seven marks, 10 clearances and six tackles in the Tigers’ narrow win against Central.

Round 7 RAA Rookies

There were four RAA Rookies in Round 7 of the Statewide Super League.

Nicholas Moore (Eagles) SMOSH West Lakes FC
Flynn Pisani (Central) Tea Tree Gully FC
Cam McGree (South) Reynella FC
Nigel Osborn (West) Mallala FC

2019 SANFL Digital Pass Player of the Year


West v Sturt – Votes by Wayne Weidemann
3) Zane Kirkwood (Sturt)
2) Sam Colquhoun (Sturt)
1) Will Snelling (West)

Eagles v Norwood – Votes by Bernie Mahoney
3) Jarrad Redden (Eagles)
2) Jordan Foote (Eagles)
1) Lewis Johnston (Norwood)

Central v Glenelg – Votes by Robbie Neill
3) Luke Partington (Glenelg)
2) Lachlan Hosie (Glenelg)
1) Justin Hoskin (Central)

North v South – Votes by Peter Argent
3) Michael Knoll (South)
2) Joe Haines (South)
1) Nick Liddle (South)

15 – Jack Trengove (Port)
11 – Zane Kirkwood (Sturt), Lewis Johnston (Norwood)
7 – Peter Ladhams (Port), Patrick Wilson (Adelaide), Sam Colquhoun (Sturt), Will Snelling (West)
6 – Jarred Allmond (North)
5 – Chris Curran (Glenelg)
4 – Joel Cross (South), Jordan Foote (Eagles), Luke Partington (Glenelg), Justin Hoskin (Central), Joseph Haines (South)

Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.