Hostplus League

Riley Knight wins 2022 R. O. Shearman Medal

Eagles midfielder Riley Knight won the 2022 Shearman Medal. Picture - David Mariuz


Woodville-West Torrens midfielder Riley Knight is the first Eagle in six years to win the R. O. Shearman Medal.

Polling a total of 83 votes, the Eagles premiership star held off fast-finishing Norwood ruckman Harry Boyd, who attracted to maximum votes in Round 19 to fall just four short of Knight.

Central District rover Travis Schiller placed third with 69 votes while 2022 Magarey Medallist Aaron Young and runner-up Nik Rokahr finished equal fourth with 66.

Knight’s consistency throughout 2022 was reflected in averaging 29.3 disposals, five marks, six tackles and five clearances to imprint himself as one of the competition’s most damaging players.

The 27-year-old is just the fourth Woodville-West Torrens player to win the R. O. Shearman Medal, joining Gavin Colville (2000), Justin Cicolella (2006) and Jared Petrenko (2016).

North Adelaide’s James Allan has dominated the award, claiming a record six R. O Shearman Medals, including one with Sturt’s Jade Sheedy in 2008.

Voted on a 5-4-3-2-1 basis by the SANFL coaches during the minor round, the R. O Shearman Medal voting appears weekly on the SANFL website.

Introduced in 2000, the medal is named after five-time Sturt premiership player and SA Football Hall of Fame member Bob Shearman.

2022 Shearman Medal Leaderboard

Player Club Votes
Riley Knight Eagles 83
Harry Boyd Norwood 79
Travis Schiller Central 69
Aaron Young North 66
Nik Rokahr Norwood 66
Campbell Combe North 65
Harrison Wigg North 60
Casey Voss Sturt 58

R. O. Shearman Medal Honour Roll

Year Player Club
2000 Gavin Colville Eagles
2001 Ryan O'Connor Port
2002 Jade Sheedy Sturt
2003 Brett Backwell/Marco Bello Glenelg/Central
2004 Salim Hassan West
2005 Jeremy Clayton Port
2006 Justin Cicolella Eagles
2007 James Allan North
2008 James Allan/Jade Sheedy North/Sturt
2009 James Allan North
2010 James Allan North
2011 James Allan North
2012 James Allan North
2013 Matthew Thomas Norwood
2014 Steven Summerton Port
2015 Joel Cross South
2016 Jared Petrenko Eagles
2017 Joel Cross South
2018 Nick Liddle South
2019 Luke Partington Glenelg
2020 Matthew Snook Glenelg
2021 Campbell Combe North
Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.