Women's Footy

Piper Window wins 2023 SANFLW Best and Fairest

2023 SANFLW Best and Fairest Piper Window is congratulated by SA Football Commission Chairman Rob Kerin. Picture - David Mariuz


Glenelg midfielder Piper Window has been fittingly rewarded for her stunning season, winning the 2023 Hostplus SANFLW League Best and Fairest Award.

The third Bays player to be crowned the competition’s best alongside Courtney Gum in 2017 and Jessica Bates in 2022, Window also claimed honours in the Kia Coaches Award while being named ruck rover in The Advertiser SANFLW Team of the Year.

Polling a total of 19 votes, the 17-year-old edged out West Adelaide ball magnet Zoe Venning on 17 votes and North Adelaide onballer Jess Edwards on 13.

Bursting out of the blocks to poll 13 votes in the opening six games, Window held on to win by attracting maximum votes in Rounds 10 and 11.

”My heart was shaking, I knew I was in with a chance but I thought it was going to be Zoe winning,” Window said.

”This is incredible. I’ve loved playing footy. I love going to training with the girls – sometimes you have a bad day but when you go to training it makes it all better.”

Glenelg’s No.8 was adjudged best afield by the field umpires on five occasions – in Rounds 2, 3, 5, 10 and 11.

The 2021 Tigers premiership player also claimed honours to win the Powerade Breakthrough Player award as the competition’s most promising player aged under 21 at the start of the season.

Averaging more than 20 disposals, six clearances and 159 Champion Data ranking points per game, Window also displayed her willingness to defend by averaging an outstanding eight tackles per game in 2023.

Starting her football journey with the powerful Morphettville Park Football Club, Window is the granddaughter of Central District’s 1965 Magarey Medallist Gary Window and her brother Hunter Window is currently a member of the Bays’ senior squad.

Making her debut for Glenelg in 2021, Window has now racked up 33 SANFLW games with the Tigers, including the team’s memorable first SANFLW premiership in the club’s centenary season.

2023 SANFLW Best and Fairest – Piper Window (Glenelg)

2023 SANFLW Best and Fairest Leaderboard

Player SANFL Club Votes
Piper Window Glenelg 19
Zoe Venning West 17
Jessica Edwards North 13
Shelby Smith* Central 12
Lauren Young West 11
Tahlita Buethke Norwood 11
Elaine Grigg Central 11
Isabelle Starmer North 11

Kia Coaches Award

Glenelg’s Piper Window added to her lengthening list of accolades by taking home the 2023 Kia Coaches Award.

Cruising to victory with 59 votes ahead of runner-up Tahlita Buethke (Norwood) on 44 votes, Window earned the ultimate respect of the SANFLW coaches while also winning the 2023 SANFL Best and Fairest Award and being named in The Advertiser SANFLW Team of the Year.

Attracting votes in her first seven outings this season, the Bays’ prolific ball-winner earned the highest praise of the SANFLW mentors by being named best afield with maximum votes in Round 2, Round 3 and Round 11.

Window, 17, wins a $500 cash prize and a trophy courtesy of Kia.

Behind Buethke in second place, Central captain Shelby Smith was third with 43 votes, together with North veteran Jessica Edwards while Sturt’s Isobel Kuiper was fifth on 42.

Player SANFL Club Votes
Piper Window Glenelg 59
Tahlita Buethke Norwood 44
Shelby Smith Central 43
Jessica Edwards North 43
Isobel Kuiper Sturt 42

Glenelg’s Piper Window in full flight. Picture – Cory Sutton

AAMI Leading Goal Kicker

Central District star Katelyn Rosenzweig completed a fairytale comeback from serious injury to win the AAMI Leading Goal Kicker Award.

Returning from a knee reconstruction in 2023, the Bulldogs’ forward kicked a total of 21 goals across her 12 minor round matches.

The 22-year-old hit the scoreboard in 10 of her 12 minor round outings, including a season-best haul of four against Sturt in Round 8.

It is the second time Rosenzweig has won the SANFLW Leading Goal Kicker trophy, having also saluted in 2018 while playing with North Adelaide.

Originally from the Hamley Bridge Football Club, Rosenzweig was also selected at full forward in The Advertiser SANFLW Team of the Year.

Rosenzweig, who finished in front of retiring Glenelg veteran Chelsea Packer (Glenelg) on 16 goals, was awarded a $500 prize courtesy of AAMI.

Player SANFL Club Total Goals (Minor Round)
Katelyn Rosenzweig Central District 21
Chelsea Packer Glenelg 16
Sky Jensen North Adelaide 11
Tessa Doumanis Sturt 10
Jemma Whittington-Charity Woodville-West Torrens 10
Najwa Allen Norwood 10

2023 AAMI Leading Goal Kicker – Central’s Katelyn Rosenzweig. Picture – Cory Sutton

SA Power Networks Leadership Award

Sturt captain Kate Harris has won the SA Power Networks Leadership Award after being nominated by the Double Blues for her outstanding team-first approach in 2023.

Introduced in 2021, the SA Power Networks Leadership Award recognises players for their off-field attitude as much as their on-field achievements.

Retiring Sturt skipper Maya Rigter, who Harris replaced during the season, won the inaugural award while Norwood captain Alison Ferrall claimed honours last year.

The award was developed from the Female Personal Pathways program – a series of workshops and forums covering leadership, financial and career development, club culture and mental health education.

SANFL clubs nominated a player based on a number of criteria, including demonstrating care in mentoring younger players at their club, inspiring and encouraging personal development and having values that reflect those of their club.

Harris, who was named captain of The Advertiser SANFLW Team of the Year, will receive a $10,000 contribution towards her studies at Torrens University.

Sturt captain Kate Harris fires out a handball. Picture – Peter Swan

2023 Macca's Moment

South Adelaide’s Lily Baxter has won the inaugural 2023 Macca’s Moment Award.

In just her first season of senior SANFLW football, Baxter calmly slotted the match-winning goal against Glenelg in Round 6, putting the Panthers in front with less than two minutes to play.

Baxter receives a trophy, a $500 gift card plus a $1000 equipment pack to be gifted to her local club courtesy of Macca’s.

Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.