Hostplus League

Kobe Ryan wins 2023 Powerade Breakthrough Player Award

West's inaugural winner of the Powerade Breakthrough Player, Kobe Ryan, sweeps out a handball against Port in Round 4. Picture - Peter Argent

Sponsored by Powerade


Kobe Ryan is the first West Adelaide player to win the Powerade Breakthrough Player award since its inception 17 years ago. 

Sweeping aside the disappointment of not being selected in last year’s AFL Draft, the Bloods’ prolific ball-winner posted a standout debut campaign across the Hostplus SANFL League season.

Polling 17 votes to be placed equal seventh in the Magarey Medal, the 19-year-old averaged 23 disposals, five clearances and eight marks while featuring in every game for West in 2023.

The eye-catching midfielder – who measures in at 184cm and 75kg – displayed his exceptional running power with his consistent play, headlined by a career-best effort against Glenelg in Round 10 which yielded 35 disposals, eight clearances and 12 tackles.

Earning a $1000 cash prize and a trophy courtesy of SANFL Premier Partner Coca-Cola Europacific Partners Australia, Ryan earned his nomination in Round 1 when he registered an impressive 27 disposals, seven marks and four clearances in the Bloods’ narrow loss to North Adelaide.

Introduced in 2007, the Powerade Breakthrough Player is designed to recognise and reward the best emerging young talent in the Hostplus SANFL League.

To be eligible, players must be aged 23 and under as well as having played 10 Hostplus SANFL League games or less at the start of the year.

2023 Powerade Breakthrough Player Nominees

Round 1 – Kobe Ryan (West Adelaide)
Round 2 – Leyton Chisholm (Central District)
Round 3 – Charlie Dinning (North Adelaide)
Round 4 – Liam Delahunty (West Adelaide)
Round 5 – Cade Kennedy (West Adelaide)
Round 6 – Amos Doyle (Sturt)
Round 7 – Adam D’Aloia (Eagles)
Round 8 – Jed Hagan (Port Adelaide)
Round 9 – Sam Frost (West Adelaide)
Round 10 – Sam Breuer (Sturt)
Round 11 – Ben Shillabeer (South Adelaide)
Round 12 – Max Beattie (Woodville-West Torrens)
Round 13 – Sid Draper (South Adelaide)
Round 14 – Jack McCann (North Adelaide)
Round 15 – Blayne O’Loughlin (Adelaide)
Round 16 – Max Blacker (North Adelaide)
Round 17 – Kade Herbert (Woodville-West Torrens)
Round 18 – David Brinker-Ritchie (Woodville-West Torrens)

Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.