Harry Grant wins 2023 SANFL Now Player of the Year Award


Central District ball magnet Harry Grant has cruised to a comfortable win in the 2023 SANFL Now Player of the Year Award.

One of the most improved players in the Hostplus SANFL League this season, Grant’s career-best campaign translated into an impressive tally of 25 votes.

This placed the consistent 22-year-old well clear of runner-up Matt Allen (Glenelg) on 17 votes while James Battersby (Sturt), Tom Lewis (Sturt) and Nik Rokahr (Norwood) all polled 15 votes.

Featuring in just seven League matches last year, chiefly due to persistent injuries, the former GWS Academy player has quickly forged a reputation as one of the competition’s leading midfielders in 2023.

Averaging 26 disposals and seven clearances this year, the Bulldogs’ No.10 polled seven first preferences which ensured he had the award sewn up heading into Round 18.

Grant – who will receive $500 courtesy of SANFL – joins last year’s joint-winners Nik Rokahr and Aaron Young, Matt Snook (2021), Richard Douglas (2020) and Luke Partington (2019) as winners of the award, which is judged by SANFL Now commentators under a 3-2-1 voting system.

2023 SANFL Now Player of the Year Leaderboard

25 – Harry Grant (Central)
17 – Matt Allen (Glenelg)
15 – James Battersby (Sturt), Nik Rokahr (Norwood), Tom Lewis (Sturt)
12 – Keegan Brooksby (South) Jackson Hately (Adelaide)
11 – Lachie Hosie (Glenelg), Kieran Strachan (Adelaide), James Rowe (Eagles), Liam McBean (Glenelg), Kobe Ryan (West)
10 – Sam Berry (Adelaide), Casey Voss (Sturt)
9 – Campbell Combe (North), Harry Schoenberg (Adelaide), Oliver Davis (South)

Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.