Hostplus League

Harrison Magor wins 2022 Powerade Breakthrough Player Award

Sponsored by Powerade


North Adelaide defender Harrison Magor has displayed tremendous resilience in earning the 2022 Powerade Breakthrough Player Award.

After playing five Hostplus League games in 2020, Magor appeared set to shine in 2021 but was unable to break into the Roosters League team as he lined up in 18 Reserves matches last year.

It would have been easy for Magor to leave Prospect at the start of 2022 but instead, the Port Pirie product dug in to establish himself as a vital piece in North’s defensive unit en route to playing in the Hostplus SANFL League Grand Final.

Featuring in all of North’s 20 matches this season, Magor averaged 17 possessions a game at an impressive disposal efficiency of 86 per cent.

The 21-year-old also averaged five marks, three tackles and three rebound 50s as he cemented his place across the Roosters’ half-back line in 2022.

Earning a $1000 cash prize and a trophy courtesy of SANFL Premier Partner Coca-Cola Europacific Partners Australia, Magor earned his nomination in Round 4 when he registered a game-high 33 disposals and 11 marks in the Roosters’ win against South Adelaide.

He is just the second North player to win the Powerade Breakthrough Player Award after Will Combe was successful in 2020 while the Roosters had a total of five players nominated with Jacob Bauer, Harrison Elbrow, Lachlan Grubb and Tyson Brazel joining Magor.

Introduced in 2007, the Powerade Breakthrough Player is designed to recognise and reward the best emerging young talent in the Hostplus SANFL League.

To be eligible, players must be aged 23 and under as well as having played 10 Hostplus SANFL League games or less at the start of the year.

2022 Powerade Breakthrough Player Nominees

Round 1 – Jye Menzie (South)
Round 2 – Jacob Bauer (North)
Round 3 – Josh Carmichael (West)
Round 4 – Harrison Magor (North)
Round 5 – Kim Kantilla (South)
Round 6 – Hugh Stagg (Glenelg)
Round 7 – Harrison Elbrow (North)
Round 8 – Max Litster (Eagles)
Round 9 – Brady Searle (Glenelg)
Round 10 – Lachlan Grubb (North)
Round 11 – Joel Stevens (West)
Round 12 – Zac Buck (Eagles)
Round 13 – Cooper Horsnell (Glenelg)
Round 14 – Tom Emmett (Sturt)
Round 15 – Riley Corbett (West)
Round 16 – Sam Morris (Norwood)
Round 17 – Will Pearce (Eagles)
Round 18 – Nick Lowden (Norwood)
Round 19 – Tyson Brazel (North)

Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.