Harris wins second Golden Whistle

SANFL Field Umpire Mitch Harris with his second Golden Whistle award. Picture - David Mariuz


Mitch Harris has won a second Golden Whistle in three years after being adjudged SANFL’s best League field umpire in 2021.

Adding to his crown in 2019, Harris has now officiated in 94 League games after notching up 21 appearances this season.

Since starting with the League’s umpiring academy in 2011, Harris has also been chosen to umpire in the past three consecutive Grand Finals.

Boundary umpire Sam Royans claimed his third Silver Whistle as the League’s best, adding to his back-to-back triumphs in 2017 and 2018.

Appearing in 19 League matches this season, Royans officiated in his sixth League Grand Final in 2021, giving him a total of 235 games since his arrival in 2004.

Experienced Matt Cummins won the 2021 Goal Umpire Award, giving him a fifth trophy to go with his ones earned in 2007, 2008, 2012 and 2016.

Officiating in his eighth League Grand Final this year, Cummins has now waved the flags in 278 League games after making 18 appearances in 2021.

2021 SANFL Goal Umpiring Award winner – Matthew Cummins

2021 SANFL Golden Whistle Awards

Umpire of the Year

Golden Whistle                  Mitchell Harris 

Silver Whistle                     Sam Royans                      

Goal Umpires Award         Matthew Cummins


Most Improved Awards

Field Umpire                       Sam Morgan    

Boundary Umpire              Patrick Cannard                

Goal Umpire                       Thomas Fahey


Mark Posa Award – Outstanding New Talent

Georgia Henderson


Andrew Vickers Medallion –Coaches Trophy

Aaron Bennett


David Elliott Award – Outstanding Service to Umpiring

Miles Wilson


2021 Mark Posa Award Winner for Most Outstanding New Talent – Georgia Henderson. Picture – David Mariuz

Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.