Women's Footy

Goody wins 2022 SANFLW Powerade Breakthrough Player Award

Eagles midfielder Shineah Goody streaks away with the ball in Round 2. Picture - Scott Starkey

Sponsored by Powerade


Woodville-West Torrens midfielder Shineah Goody has won the 2022 SANFLW Powerade Breakthrough Player Award, adding to her ever-expanding trophy cabinet.

Aged just 16, Goody was nominated for her outstanding performance against minor premier North Adelaide in Round 8, collecting 26 disposals, six marks, six tackles and seven rebound 50s.

Featuring in nine Hostplus SANFLW League matches this season, Goody averaged an impressive 20.3 disposals, five marks and four tackles despite conceding age and experience to the majority of her opponents.

Winning the 2022 SANFLW Powerade Breakthrough Player is in addition to Goody scooping the pool at the 2022 NAB AFLW National Championships, where she was named tournament MVP, South Australian MVP and All-Australian.

Starting her footy journey with the Southern Eagles at the base of Yorke Peninsula, Goody regularly travels from her home in Edithburgh to train and play with the Eagles in Adelaide, making her achievement all the more meritorious.

Goody was one of two Eagles, along with Jemma Whitington-Charity, nominated for the Award while Norwood and Central had the most players nominated with three each.

To be eligible for the SANFLW Powerade Breakthrough Player Award, players must be aged 21 and under at the start of the year.

Goody was selected by a panel of judges which included SANFL General Manager Football Matt Duldig, SANFL Female Talent Manager Robbie Neill, SANFL Football Operations Coordinator Daniel Joyce, SANFL Head of Football Operations Sean Toohey and SANFL Media Producer Zac Milbank.

2022 SANFLW Powerade Breakthrough Player Nominees

Round 1 – Sarah Goodwin (Glenelg)
Round 2 – Jade Halfpenny (Norwood)
Round 3 – Georgia McKee (Central)
Round 4 – Lana Schwerdt (Norwood)
Round 5 – Shae Archbold (South)
Round 6 – Laitiah Huynh (Central)
Round 7 – Brianna Arthur (North)
Round 8 – Shineah Goody (Eagles)
Round 9 – Jemma Whitington-Charity (Eagles)
Round 10 – Tesharna Maher (Norwood)
Round 11 – Caitlin Wendland (Central)
Round 12 – Ella Boag (Glenelg)

Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.