First Nations

Central Swans Win 2019 SANFL APY League


Central Swans have won the 2019 SANFL APY League premiership, defeating Wintjalangu by just eight points in a thrilling Grand Final at Mutitjulu.

Playing in front one of Australia’s most famous landmarks, Uluru, the Swans managed to hold their nerve in the title-decider after overcoming the highly-fancied Amata in the Preliminary Final.

It capped a stunning rise for the red and whites, who only just scraped into the First Semi-Final at the end of the 15-game minor round competition.

They then toppled the Pukatja Magpies in their opening major round encounter before staving off elimination by winning their next two finals in succession en route to the ultimate glory.

The final score in the Grand Final was Central Swans 8.4 (52) defeating Wintjalangu 6.8 (44).

While the Saints were unable to win the premiership, Elijah Walker was named best afield in the Grand Final, Nelson Peters was named SANFL APY League Player of the Year in winning the Don McSweeny Medal and Joseph Tapaya was crowned Coach of the Year.

Jake Kitson, of the Mutitjulu Cats, was the SANFL APY League Leading Goal Kicker for season 2019.

2019 SANFL APY League Softball Premiers – Fregon Bulldogs

Fregon earned a comfortable win in the 2019 SANFL APY League Softball Grand Final, defeating Wintjalungu by nine runs.

Similar to the Central Swans in the Football competition, the Bulldogs ground their way into the First Semi-Final before winning their three major round clashes in succession to claim the ultimate prize.

Fregon’s Martina Roberts was a significant influence in the result, winning the medal for best afield in the Grand Final.

Final score in the 2019 SANFL APY League Softball Grand Final was Fregon Bulldogs 11 defeating the Wintjalungu Saints 2.

Having lost both the Football and Softball title-deciders, the Saints displayed tremendous grace in defeat.

Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.