Umpiring

Become an Umpire

 

The first step towards becoming a Field, Boundary or Goal Umpire is to attend a FREE Basic Umpiring Course.

Conducted by current SANFL League Field Umpire Andrew Crosby, the Basic Umpiring Course is a 3-hour training program designed to teach the fundamental skills of becoming an umpire, and is an introduction to the umpiring development pathway.

It is designed to be used by all entry-level umpires, irrespective of age*, gender or background in the game.

*The minimum age to attend courses from January-July is 14 years of age, as at 1st April, 2020.
*The minimum age to attend courses in October is 14 years of age, as at 1st April, 2021.

 

What to expect?

The 3-hour course will cover topics such as:

  • Umpiring Pathways
  • How much will I get paid?
  • Umpire Roles
  • Decision Making
  • Communication
  • Positioning
  • Signals

There will also be a practical component that will cover:

  • Ball-Ups
  • Boundary throw-ins
  • Goal Flag waving
  • Signals

Upon completion, each participant will receive a Basic Umpiring Course certificate, as well as information on the next step towards umpiring your first game.

Course Dates for 2020

  • Wednesday 22nd January (Sturt Football Club)
  • Saturday 1st February (Port Adelaide Football Club)
  • Sunday 16th February (Port Adelaide Football Club)
  • Sunday 1st March (Prince Alfred College – RED Centre)
  • Sunday 15th March (Prince Alfred College – RED Centre)
  • Wednesday 15th April (Sturt Football Club)
  • Wednesday 22nd April (Sturt Football Club)
  • Sunday 24th May (Prince Alfred College – RED Centre)
  • Wednesday 30th September (Sturt Football Club)
  • Wednesday 7th October (West Adelaide Football Club)

All courses run from 9:30am-12:30pm

If have any questions regarding the Basic Umpiring Course, please email Andrew Crosby directly at [email protected]