Hostplus League

AFL-listed players qualified for Hostplus SANFL League Finals

Port's Hugh Jackson and Adelaide's Harry Schoenberg have qualified for the 2023 Hostplus SANFL finals series. Picture - Sarah Reed


SANFL has released the AFL-listed players qualified to play for Adelaide and Port Adelaide in the 2023 Hostplus SANFL League finals series.

Adelaide, set to tackle Sturt in Sunday’s Qualifying Final from 3.15pm, will have a total of 18 AFL-listed players eligible to play in the major round.

The Crows have confirmed they will be without key utility Elliot Himmelberg (hamstring) and midfielder Harry Schoenberg (Achilles) throughout September while defender Andrew McPherson (quad) remains in doubt.

Port, preparing to confront Central District in Sunday’s Elimination Final from 12.15pm, have 17 AFL-listed players meet the eligibility criteria, should the Power be eliminated from the AFL finals race.

While Port’s AFL team remains active in the finals series, any AFL-listed player is permitted to play in SANFL finals except if they have lined up in Round 24 (including the activated substitute), in which case they cannot play in the SANFL Elimination Final.

Port ruckman Dante Visentini (quad) and running defender Josh Sinn (hamstring) are expected to miss the clash against the Bulldogs.

For AFL-listed players to qualify for SANFL League finals, they must play a higher percentage of SANFL games than AFL games throughout the year and at least three SANFL games after the halfway point of the Hostplus League season.

Under SANFL rules, Adelaide and Port Adelaide are permitted to field a maximum of 17 AFL-listed players in each finals match, inclusive of a marquee player (Jack Madgen or Cam Sutcliffe).

Adelaide players qualified for 2023 Hostplus SANFL Finals Series

Sam Berry

Kieran Strachan

Hugh Bond

James Borlase

Tyler Brown

Brayden Cook

Matt Crouch

Billy Dowling

Lachlan Gollant

Will Hamill

Jackson Hately

Mark Keane

Luke Nankervis

Tariek Newchurch

Patrick Parnell

Elliott Himmelberg

Andrew McPherson

Harry Schoenberg

Port Adelaide players qualified for 2023 Hostplus SANFL Finals Series

Brynn Teakle

Dante Visentini

Francis Evans

Hugh Jackson

Jackson Mead

Jake Pasini

Jase Burgoyne

Josh Sinn

Kyle Marshall

Nathan Barkla

Orazio Fantasia

Quinton Narkle

Riley Bonner

Sam Hayes

Tom Scully

Tom McCallum

Trent Dumont

Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.