Community Footy

2023 Think! Road Safety SA Country Championships Results

2023 SA Men's Country Championship winners - Eastern Zone. Picture - Peter Argent

Compiled by Zac Milbank

Men's Championships Wrap

Eastern has claimed an historic inaugural South Australian Men’s Country Championship with a comfortable 53-point win in the Grand Final at Nuriootpa’s Centennial Park Oval.

Finishing undefeated across its opening two outings on Saturday, Eastern finished off strongly in the title-deciding match as SANFL Crows-listed midfielder Josh Smithson starred with three goals in a best afield display.

Eastern – which includes players from the Hills, River Murray, Riverland and Murray Valley Football Leagues –  fittingly had seven players selected in the Men’s Team of the Championship, including Don McSweeny Medallist Samuel Callins.

Taking the reins for the first time in the coach’s box, Eastern mentor Adam Klun – who played SANFL with Sturt and Woodville-West Torrens – was awarded the Bill Murdoch Medal as Coach of the Championships.

Eyre Peninsula wingman Harlee Chandler was selected as the Best Under-21 player while former Central District Bulldogs goalsneak Caleb Edmead won the Leading Goal Kicker trophy lining up for Central Zone.

Selected as Field Umpire of the Championships for the third year in succession, Hudson Noack was joined by Nicholas Davis (Boundary) and Jacob Crossfields (Goal) in having his officiating recognised.


Champion – Eastern

Final Standings – Eastern, Central, Southern, South East, Eyre Peninsula, Northern

Don McSweeny Medal (Player of the Championships) – Samuel Callins (Eastern)

Bill Murdoch Medal (Coach of the Championships) – Adam Klun (Eastern)

Best U21 Player – Harlee Chandler (Eyre Peninsula)

Leading Goalkicker – Caleb Edmead (Central)

Umpires of the Championships – Hudson Noack (Field), Nicholas Davis (Boundary), Jacob Crossfields (Goal)

Men’s Team of the Championships

F: Jay Polkinghorne (Eyre Peninsula), Riley Clamp (Southern), Caleb Edmead (Central)

HF: Ben Salt (Eastern), Jacob Eats (South East), Sam Renney (Southern)

C: Troy Blackwell (Southern), Clint Gallio (South East), Harlee Chandler (Eyre Peninsula)

HB: Beau Shinnick (Central), Patrick White (Central), Andrew Wright (Northern)

B: Campbell Watts (South East), Daniel Perks (Eastern), Shannon Jones (Southern)


R: Callum Tonkin (Southern), Josh Smithson (Eastern), Samuel Callins (Eastern)

INT: Rory O’Driscoll (Eastern), Lachlan Arnold (Central), Ben Moroney (Eastern), Rory Taggert (South East), Sam Sanders (Eastern), Sam Colquhoun (Central)

Eastern Zone captain Sam Sanders (left) with coach Adam Klun. Picture – Peter Argent

Women's Championship Wrap

2023 SA Women’s Country Champions – Central Zone. Picture – Peter Argent

Central held its nerve on home soil to earn its inaugural SA Women’s Country Championship with a three-point win against Eastern in the Grand Final at Nuriootpa’s Centennial Park Oval.

Determined to qualify for the title-decider after a third-placing last year, Central managed to remain undefeated after finishing the minor round in second place.

Boasting five players in the Women’s Team of the Championships, Central was coached by former Central District Women’s mentor Shaun Ribbons, who was the Coach of the Championships.

Central Zone includes players from Adelaide Plains, North Eastern and Yorke Peninsula Football Leagues as well as the Barossa, Light & Gawler Football Association.

Central midfielder Elizabeth Wilson shared the Player of the Championships award with Eyre Peninsula half-back Mardi Masson, who also took home the crown for Best Under-21 Player.

Eyre Peninsula’s Brooke Moore, named at centre half-forward in the Team of the Championships, was the competition’s Leading Goal Kicker.


Champion – Central

Final Standings – Central, Eastern, Southern, South East, Eyre Peninsula, Northern

Women’s Player of the Championships – Mardi Masson (Eyre Peninsula), Elizabeth Wilson (Central)

Best Under 21 Player – Mardi Masson (Eyre Peninsula)

Coach of the Championships – Shaun Ribbons (Central)

Leading Goal Kicker – Brooke Moore (Eyre Peninsula)

Women’s Team of the Championships

F: Brianna Burt (Eastern), Emma Keys (Central)

HF: Kiahni Russell (Southern), Brooke Moore (Eyre Peninsula), Ellie Ward (Central)

C: Alex Mason (Eyre Peninsula), Elizabeth Wilson (Central), Skye Kartinyeri-Sumner (Southern)

HB: Ash Anderson (Northern), Larissa Schenscher (Eastern), Mardi Masson (Eyre Peninsula)

B: Jaimi Griffen (Southern), Ella Mickan (Central)


R: Emma Fitzpatrick (Southern), Katrice Turner (Southern), Erin Horsnell (South East)

INT: Victoria Farrelly (Central), Ashley Forbes (Northern), Cassie Coombe (Eastern), Samantha Ramm (Northern), Zoe Hawker (South East), Georgia Weatherspoon (Southern)

Central Zone co-captains Ella Mickan (left) and Taryn Wills with coach Shaun Ribbons. Picture – Peter Argent

Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.