2023 SA U16 Girls Squad Released

Glenelg's Matilda Wilmore breaks through a tackle in the SA U16 Internal Trial match. Picture - Peter Argent


A final 30-player SA U16 Girls squad has been released, as it prepares for its two-match AFL Championship series in April.

To be coached by SANFL Female Talent Coordinator Bek McMahon, the Croweaters will face Victoria Metro in Melbourne on Sunday April 23 before tackling Western Australia in Perth on Sunday April 30.

Several Hostplus SANFLW League regulars feature in the squad, including Central’s Sophie Eaton, North Adelaide pair Jayde Visser and Sarcha Taylor, Glenelg’s Matilda Wilmore, South Adelaide’s Lily Baxter and Sturt’s Monique Bessen.

After initially beginning training in February, the South Aussies will resume on Tuesday April 4 ahead of the clash with the Vics at North Melbourne’s Arden Street base.

McMahon will be assisted by Norwood SANFLW captain Alison Ferrall, SANFLW Leading Goal kicker Kelly Barltrop and Redlegs premiership wingman Anthony Wilson.

Ferrall and Barltrop are both graduates of SANFL’s female coaching academy while Wilson has been working on and off the field with Port Adelaide’s SANFL program.

South Adelaide’s Lily Baxter hunts down the ball in the SA U16 Internal Trial. Picture – Peter Argent

2023 SA U16 Girls Squad

Player SANFL Club
Sophie Eaton Central District
Holly Tralaggan Central District
Miyu Endersby Central District
Mikaylah Antony Central District
Matilda Wilmore Glenelg
Eloise Mackareth Glenelg
Jordan Horne Glenelg
Bella Koch Glenelg
Lakeisha Sheffield Glenelg
Jayde Visser North Adelaide
Sarcha Taylor North Adelaide
Krystal Thompson North Adelaide
Charli Hazelhurst Norwood
Asha Bianchi Norwood
Kyah Jaffer Norwood
Emma Charlton South Adelaide
Taya Maxwell South Adelaide
Layla Vizguadis South Adelaide
Bella Rigby South Adelaide
Lily Baxter South Adelaide
Monique Bessen Sturt
Sophie Thredgold Sturt
Edwina Thornquest Sturt
Keira May Sturt
Stephanie Tredwell West Adelaide
Lucy Waye West Adelaide
Molly Petersen West Adelaide
Chloe Tonkin West Adelaide
Zahlia Niemann Woodville-West Torrens
Asha Meers Woodville-West Torrens
Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.