Women's Footy

2022 SANFLW Club Champions

North Adelaide premiership midfielder Jess Edwards after winning the club's SANFLW Best and Fairest award.

Compiled by Zac Milbank

Central District

2022 SANFLW Best and Fairest

1st – Shelby Smith 82 votes

2nd – Isabelle Starmer 57

3rd – Caitlen Teague 44

4th – Caitlin Wendland 26

5th – Karissa Searle 20

6th – Georgia McKee 18

7th – Georgia Madigan 17

8th – Lauren Breguet 17

9th – Laitiah Huynh 16

10th – Charlotte Riggs 15

Rising Star
Charlotte Riggs

Best Team Person
Ella Mickan

Most Determined
Georgia Madigan

Leading Goalkicker
Georgia McKee

Coaches Award
Laitiah Huynh

Development League Best and Fairest
Jessie Sandford

2022 Central SANFLW Best and Fairest – Shelby Smith


2022 SANFLW Best and Fairest

1st – Jess Bates 181 votes

2nd – Ellie Kellock 121

3rd – Sarah Goodwin 120

4th – Madi Freeman 48

5th – Matilda Scholz 45

Trademark Player
Sarah Goodwin

Cass Hartley Best Team Player
Madi Freeman

Development League Best and Fairest
Shay’Lee Dayman

2022 Glenelg SANFLW Best and Fairest Jess Bates (right) with board member Catherine Sayer.

North Adelaide

2022 SANFLW Best and Fairest
Jess Edwards

Runner up Best and Fairest
Hannah Ewings

Best Finals Player
Megan Ryan

Margie Varcoe Memorial Trophy for Best Women’s Team Player
Leah Tynan

Leading Goal Kicker
Hannah Ewings & Jade DeMelo

Women’s Best Young Talent
Jamie Parish

Development League Best and Fairest
Hannah Muscat


2022 SANFLW Best and Fairest

1st –  Tesharna Maher 110 votes

2nd – Sachi Syme 97

3rd – Sophie Armitstead 95

4th – Lana Schwerdt 84

5th – Jade Halfpenny 76

6th – Alana Lishmund 69

7th – Alison Ferrall 65

8th – Nicola Burns 63

9th – Leah Cutting 48

10th – Shai Hiscock 42


League Leading Goalkicker
Alana Lishmund

League Women’s Coaches Award
Shai Hiscock

Rising Star
Lana Schwerdt

Best First Year Player
Molly Brooksby

Development Squad Best and Fairest
Hayley Cornish

Norwood’s 2022 SANFLW Best and Fairest Tesharna Maher with coach Mat Creeper.

South Adelaide

2022 South SANFLW Best & Fairest

1. Nicole Campbell & Gypsy Schirmer – 67 votes
3. Jess Waterhouse – 64 votes
4. Jaslynne Smith – 56 votes
5. Shae Archbold – 53 votes
6. Lucy Northcott & Nari Wright – 51 votes
8.Samantha Pratt – 41 votes
9. Esther Schirmer – 39 votes
10. Brooke Boileau & Tahlita Buethke – 36 votes

Leading Goalkicker
Shae Archbold & Jess Waterhouse – 16 goals

Flinders University Most Improved
Caitlin Ross

Trademark Award 
Lucy Northcott

Coaches Award
Nari Wright

Rising Star
Esther Schirmer

Development League Best & Fairest
Chloe Jacobs

2022 South Women’s Best and Fairest Winners – Gypsy Schirmer (middle) and Nicole Campbell (right), with South Adelaide Chair Margaret Nyland AM. Picture – Nick Hook


2022 SANFLW Best and Fairest

1st – Georgia Bevan 104 votes

2nd – Elsie Dawes 100

3rd – Alisha Gepp 98

4th – Kate Harris 95

5th – Jaimee Wittervan 93

6th – Georgia Swan 89

7th – Kiera Mueller 88

8th – Hannah Prenzler, Maya Rigter 87

10th – Molly Fletcher 85

Senior Women’s Emerging Talent
India Rasheed

James Thredgold Most Valuable Player (Senior Women)
Alex Ballard

Women’s Development League Best & Fairest
Chloe Samuels

Sturt’s 2022 SANFLW Best and Fairest Georgia Bevan with Men’s Best and Fairest Casey Voss. Picture – Sturt FC

West Adelaide

2022 SANFLW Best & Fairest

1st – Madi Russell

2nd – Beatrice Devlyn

3rd – Maddy Zacher


Players Player Award
Madi Russell

Trademark Award
Jessica Chyer

Coaches Award
Keeley Kustermann

Best First Year Player
Emma Kilpatrick

Development League Best & Fairest
Michaela Lappin

2022 West SANFLW Best and Fairest – Madi Russell

Woodville-West Torrens

2022 Eagles SANFLW Best & Fairest
Sophie Zuill

Runner Up
Annie Falkenberg

3rd Place
Shineah Goody & Jessica Sedunary

Leading Goal Kicker
McKenzie Dowrick

Best Defender
Audrey Holt

Christine Williams Trademark Player
Amie Blanden

Community Award
Annie Falkenberg

Development League Best & Fairest
Mikayla Cavallaro

2022 Eagles SANFLW Best & Fairest – Sophie Zuill (middle) with second-placed Annie Falkenberg (left) and third-placed Shineah Goody. Picture – Hannah Howard

Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.