2022 Hostplus SANFL League Grand Final Umpires

Field Umpire Mitchell Scott has been picked to officiate in his first Hostplus SANFL League Grand Final. Picture - Manfred Kern


Emerging Field Umpire Mitchell Scott will make his Hostplus SANFL League debut in Sunday’s title-decider between North Adelaide and Norwood at Adelaide Oval.

After officiating in the West End State team’s win against the WAFL in Perth in May, Scott has been handed his first Grand Final appearance after logging 118 games of League experience.

Scott will be joined by experienced Corey Bowen, who will be appearing in his seventh League Grand Final while Thomas Bryce will line-up in his third after featuring in 2019 and 2021.

Boundary umpire Taylor Dorsey will join Scott in making his Grand Final debut after reaching his 80th League game, joining Brayden Theil (three Grand Finals) and Martin Elsegood (two Grand Finals).

Sam Royans will patrol the boundary lines in his eighth Hostplus SANFL League Grand Final after reaching his 233rd League game in 2022.

Two debutants will line-up behind the goals, with Braden Ford and Michael Button waving the flags for the first time in the most important match of the season.


Field Umpire Thomas Bryce in action during the 2022 Second Semi-Final. Picture – Manfred Kern

Field Umpires

Umpire League Matches Grand Finals
Corey Bowen 351 2008, 2009, 2017, 2018, 2020, 2021
Thomas Bryce 93 2019, 2021
Mitchell Scott 118 Nil
Mitchell Harris (EMG) 114 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021

Boundary Umpires

Umpire League Matches Grand Finals
Sam Royans 233 2014, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021
Brayden Theil 125 2017, 2019, 2021
Taylor Dorsey 80 Nil
Martin Elsegood 160 2017, 2020

Goal Umpires

Umpire League Games Grand Finals
Braden Ford 106 Nil
Michael Button 82 Nil
Mat Wilson (EMG) 184 2010, 2019, 2020
Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.