2022 Golden Whistle Awards

2022 Golden Whistle winner Tom Bryce was presented with his award by SA Football Commission Chairman Rob Kerin at a ceremony on Friday night.


Emerging field umpire Tom Bryce has capped his impressive 2022 campaign by winning his first Golden Whistle Award.

After officiating in his third Hostplus SANFL League Grand Final in September, Bryce was rewarded for his consistency, commitment and dedication in winning the League’s highest individual umpiring honour.

”Across the past 12 months, Tom has challenged himself in all aspects of field umpiring,” SANFL Umpiring Director Shane Harris said.

”Credit to him, he has remained focused and committed to improving his umpiring.

”Season 2022 has been one which has seen Tom apply himself to all facets of his umpiring.”

Joining SANFL’s Umpiring Academy in 2014, Bryce, aged 26, has now officiated in 94 League matches, including 19 this year.

Boundary Umpire Martin Elsegood continued the trend of first-time winners after claiming the Silver Whistle.

Officiating in his third Hostplus SANFL League title-decider, Elsegood has now run the boundary in 161 League matches, including 20 in 2022.

”Through commitment and good old fashioned hard work, Martin has maintained his high level of professionalism and performance both on and off the track,” Harris said of Elsegood, who began with SANFL in 2012.

”There is no doubt through hard work and committed focus, he will continue to achieve success on the boundary in the near future.”

Braden Ford continued his impressive rise in 2022 after winning SANFL’s Goal Umpire Award.

Ford waved the flags in his first Hostplus SANFL League Grand Final for the thriller between Norwood and North Adelaide, in what was his 107th appearance at League level.

”Braden has performed at the highest of levels both on and off the field and through his commitment and dedication, he has set the example for his peers,” Harris said.

”Displaying all the ability, application and commitment which he has become renowned for, his subsequent performance duly booked him a place in the ultimate match of the season.

”Admired for his high personal standards, he possesses a genuine enthusiasm and commitment towards his umpiring.”

Field Umpire Tom Bryce in action during the 2022 Second Semi-Final. Picture – Manfred Kern

2022 Golden Whistle Award Winners

Umpire of the Year

Golden Whistle
Tom Bryce

Silver Whistle
Martin Elsegood

Goal Umpires Award
Braden Ford


Most Improved Awards

Field Umpire
Scott Galletly

Boundary Umpire
James Sutton

Goal Umpire
Jared Murton


Mark Posa Award for Outstanding New Talent
Jaxon Williams

Andrew Vickers Medallion
Matt Zacher

David Elliott Award for Outstanding Service to Umpiring
Shannon Riggs

Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.