North’s Aaron Young wins 2022 Magarey Medal


North Adelaide midfielder Aaron Young has held on to win the 2022 Magarey Medal, becoming the 18th Rooster to win SANFL’s fairest and most brilliant individual award.

The dynamic ball magnet polled a total of 23 votes to edge out Norwood onballer Nik Rokahr on 22 while premiership Eagle Riley Knight and Sturt half-back Casey Voss were equal third with 21.

Young, preparing to play in the Hostplus SANFL League Grand Final, attracted first preferences from the umpires in six of the nine matches he registered votes in, hitting the lead after receiving two votes in Round 17.

The 29-year-old was then forced to sweat through the final two rounds of the count as he, Rokahr and Knight failed to receive a vote across the last fortnight.

With the Roosters soundly beaten by Sturt in Round 19, Young benefited from Rokahr not lining up in the final minor round match due to a foot injury while Knight injured his hamstring in the first half of the Eagles’ last match of the year.

Polling four votes after Round 3, Young drove himself into contention by landing 11 of his 23 votes in a four-match period from Round 6 to Round 9.

Ultra-consistent Glenelg tyro Matthew Snook, runner-up in 2020 and 2021, was placed fifth on 18 votes while Norwood giant Harry Boyd, seeking to be the first ruckman to win the Magarey since Port’s Ryan O’Connor in 2001, was sixth with 17.

2022 Magarey Medallist Aaron Young (left) with North Adelaide coach Jacob Surjan. Picture – David Mariuz

Aaron Young in his earlier stint with North Adelaide while on Port Adelaide’s AFL list.

Originally from Wantirna South Junior Football Club east of Melbourne, Young was drafted from the Eastern Ranges Football Club by Port Adelaide in the 2010 AFL Draft.

Selected by North Adelaide in SANFL’s ‘’Mini Draft’’ for Crows and Power AFL-listed players, Young made his League debut for the Roosters in 2011 before playing a total of 100 AFL games with the Power (76) and Gold Coast Suns (24).

Upon returning to Prospect in a full-time capacity at the start of last season, the experienced Rooster has quickly become one of the Hostplus League’s most damaging midfielders with his penchant for hitting the scoreboard.

In 2022, Young kicked 21 goals in the minor round while also averaging an eye-catching 27 disposals, five marks, five clearances and five inside 50s.

Measuring in at 189cm and 86kg, Young joins illustrious Roosters such as Barrie Robran, Andrew Jarman, Brenton Phillips, and teammate Campbell Combe, to win the coveted trophy.

Club Leaders


Player Votes
Matt Crouch 13
Jackson Hately 9
Kieran Strachan 9
Lachlan Sholl 7

Central District

Player Votes
Travis Schiller 13
Kyle Presbury 6


Player Votes
Matthew Snook 18
Luke Partington 10
Darcy Bailey 7
Corey Lyons 7

North Adelaide

Player Votes
Aaron Young 23
Harrison Wigg 16
Campbell Combe 15


Player Votes
Nik Rokahr 22
Harry Boyd 17
Matthew Nunn 9

Port Adelaide

Player Votes
Sam Mayes 8
Xavier Duursma 5

South Adelaide

Player Votes
Mitch O'Neill 12
Keegan Brooksby 11
Hayden Sampson 7


Player Votes
Casey Voss 21
James Battersby 14
Patrick Wilson 14

West Adelaide

Player Votes
Hamish Hartlett 9
Patrick Fairlie 5

Woodville-West Torrens

Player Votes
Riley Knight 21
Dylan Clarke 8
Daniel Menzel 6

2022 Magarey Medal Round-by-Round votes

Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.