Harry Grant wins 2023 R. O. Shearman Medal


Central District’s Harry Grant is only the second Bulldog to win the R. O. Shearman Medal since the prestigious award’s inception in 2000.

Joining fellow rover Marco Bello, who shared honours with Glenelg’s Brett Backwell in 2003, Grant polled a total of 73 votes to edge in front of Eagle James Rowe in Round 18.

Trailing Rowe by three votes heading into the final minor round encounter, the Bulldogs ball magnet attracted nine in his team’s win against Port while Rowe picked up three in his side’s loss to West.

The drought-breaking accolade adds to Grant’s victory in the 2023 SANFL Now Player of the Year Award, as voted on by the live-streaming service’s commentators.

Making a stunning resurgence after playing just seven League games last season, the 22-year-old averaged 26 disposals, six clearances and seven tackles to be a key driver behind the Bulldogs’ return to the finals for the first time since 2017.

South Adelaide ruckman Keegan Brooksby placed third with 66 votes while Adelaide’s Harry Schoenberg (62) and North’s Campbell Combe (61) rounded out the top five.

North Adelaide’s James Allan has dominated the award, claiming a record six R. O Shearman Medals, including one with Sturt’s Jade Sheedy in 2008.

Voted on a 5-4-3-2-1 basis by the SANFL coaches during the minor round, the R. O Shearman Medal voting appears weekly on the SANFL website.

Introduced in 2000, the medal is named after five-time Sturt premiership player and SA Football Hall of Fame member Bob Shearman.

2023 Shearman Medal Leaderboard

Player Club Votes
Harry Grant Central District 73
James Rowe Woodville-West Torrens 70
Keegan Brooksby South Adelaide 66
Harry Schoenberg Adelaide 62
Campbell Combe North Adelaide 61
Matt Crouch Adelaide 58
Tom Lewis Sturt 56
Joseph Sinor Woodville-West Torrens 56
Nik Rokahr Norwood 53
Matt Allen Glenelg 53

R. O. Shearman Medal Honour Roll

Year Player Club
2000 Gavin Colville Woodville-West Torrens
2001 Ryan O'Connor Port Adelaide
2002 Jade Sheedy Sturt
2003 Brett Backwell/Marco Bello Glenelg/Central District
2004 Salim Hassan West Adelaide
2005 Jeremy Clayton Port Adelaide
2006 Justin Cicolella Woodville-West Torrens
2007 James Allan North Adelaide
2008 James Allan/Jade Sheedy North Adelaide/Sturt
2009 James Allan North Adelaide
2010 James Allan North Adelaide
2011 James Allan North Adelaide
2012 James Allan North Adelaide
2013 Matthew Thomas Norwood
2014 Steven Summerton Port Adelaide
2015 Joel Cross South Adelaide
2016 Jared Petrenko Woodville-West Torrens
2017 Joel Cross South Adelaide
2018 Nick Liddle South Adelaide
2019 Luke Partington Glenelg
2020 Matthew Snook Glenelg
2021 Campbell Combe North Adelaide
2022 Riley Knight Woodville-West Torrens
Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.