2023 Golden Whistle Awards


Impressive field umpire Mitch Scott has capped his outstanding 2023 campaign by winning his first Golden Whistle Award.

After officiating in his second Hostplus SANFL League Grand Final in September, Scott was rewarded for his consistency, commitment and dedication in winning the League’s highest individual umpiring honour.

”Mitch’s mature approach, continued commitment and dedication has ensured he’s performed at a consistently high level,” SANFL Head of Umpiring Shane Harris said.

”In he past 12 months, Mitch challenged himself in all aspects of field umpiring and credit to him, he has remained focused and committed to improving his umpiring both on and off the field.”

Now with a total of 141 SANFL League games under his belt since starting with the Umpiring Academy in 2012, Scott also officiated in his second West End State game this year at Adelaide Oval, after making his debut in Perth in 2022.

Officiating in his fifth Hostplus SANFL League Grand Final this year, Brayden Theil was awarded the Silver Whistle as the best performed boundary umpire in 2023.

”Brayden consistently displayed commitment and a good old-fashioned work ethic which has ensured he’s maintained a high level of professionalism and performance both on and off the track,” Harris said of Theil, who has appeared in 164 League matches since commencing with SANFL in 2011.

”There is no doubt through hard work and committed focus, Brayden will continue to achieve success on the boundary in the future.”

Veteran flag-waver Matt Cummins continues to set a high standard, snaring the 2023 Goal Umpiring Award.

Now with 311 League matches on his resume, Cummins officiated in his ninth Hostplus SANFL League Grand Final as Glenelg proved too strong for Sturt in 2023.

”Matt has performed at the highest of levels both on and off the field,” Harris said.

”Through his commitment and dedication, he has set the example for his peers.

”Displaying all the ability, application and commitment which he has become renowned for, his subsequent performance duly booked him a place in the ultimate match of the season.”

Picture – Manfred Kern

2023 Golden Whistle Award Winners

Umpire of the Year

Golden Whistle
Mitch Scott

Silver Whistle
Brayden Theil

Goal Umpires Award
Matt Cummins


Most Improved Awards

Field Umpire
Ben Williams

Boundary Umpire
Nathan Becker

Goal Umpire
Tom Mayo


Mark Posa Award for Outstanding New Talent
Zac Packard

Andrew Vickers Medallion
Matthew Williams

David Elliott Award for Outstanding Service to Umpiring
Adam Cleary

Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.