Kenilworth claim historic APM SANFL Inclusive League double


Undefeated Kenilworth cruised to an historic second APM SANFL Inclusive League premiership in succession with a 45-point win against Athelstone at Norwood Oval. 

Bursting out of the blocks to slam on 5.2 while keeping the Raggies scoreless in the opening half, the Kookaburra’s were dominant across the field as they showed why they couldn’t be beaten in 2023.

Led by vice-captain Jesse Goodman – who was judged best afield – the double premier also had strong contributions from Caleb Bruppacher-Rigney and Ethan Glover-Lindsay, who booted two goals each.

Athelstone, featuring in the title-decider in its debut season, worked tirelessly to get itself back into the match after the main break.

Darren Thompson and Brandon Vockings hit the scoreboard for the underdogs but it wasn’t enough as the ”Kookas” earned a richly-deserved victory.

Featuring over 170 players across seven clubs, the APM SANFL Inclusive League began in April and featured 14 minor rounds before a three-week finals series.

Introduced in 2019, the APM SANFL Inclusive League is a senior men’s competition for players with an intellectual disability.

The League provides regular, competitive football to inclusive teams in a safe, fun and friendly environment. The focus is on the development of players and their social inclusion at community football clubs.

SANFL CEO Darren Chandler with 2023 Best on Ground Medallist – Jesse Goodman (Kenilworth). Picture – Peter Argent

2023 APM SANFL Inclusive League Grand Final Scoreboard

Saturday August 26
Norwood Oval

Kenilworth  2.1  5.2  7.2  9.4  (58)

Athelstone  0.0  0.0  1.1  2.1 (13)

GOALS – Kenilworth: Caleb Bruppacher-Rigney 2, Ethan Glover-Lindsay 2, Harrison Mallard, Jesse Goodman, Ben Jarrett, Alex Linn, Jeremy Wood

Athelstone: Brandon Vockings, Darren Thompson

BEST ON GROUND: Jesse Goodman (Kenilworth)

Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.