Eastern Park win fifth consecutive APM Inclusive League Grand Final


The 2021 APM Inclusive League Grand Final went down to the wire last Saturday afternoon, with Eastern Park continuing their premiership streak, defeating Kenilworth by just one point.

Drae Bennett kicked a huge goal with just over a minute left on the clock to put Eastern Park in front, crowning them premiers for the fifth year in a row.

Eastern Park kicked the first two goals of the game, keeping Kenilworth to just two points at quarter time.

However, Kenilworth broke through with its first goal just after the three-minute mark in the second quarter, and just over three minutes later, the Kookaburras got their second goal as the result of a free kick to put them in front.

With only a goal between the two combatants at half-time, the second half of the game was sure to be a thriller.

Eastern Park took a handy 14-point lead midway through the third quarter, but Kenilworth were not giving up without a fight, kicking three goals in a row to give them a five-point lead with just under four minutes to play in the last quarter.

With just over a minute left on the clock, it was do or die for Eastern Park, who were looking to claim their fifth trophy from five grand final appearances.

And it was Drae Bennett who saved the day, kicking an incredible goal from just inside 50 on a relatively tight angle – which gave Eastern Park the lead and the premiership cup.

In one of the most exciting APM Inclusive Grand Finals in its 30-year history, Kenilworth pushed the reigning premiers right to the end, in a game when the winner was never certain at any stage.

Picture – Sue McKay

Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.