Demon dominance continues in the Riverland


Berri’s reign as Riverland Women’s Football League champions has extended into a fourth year after defeating Barmera-Monash by 30-points in the 2022 RWFL Grand Final.

Playing under lights on their home deck, the Demons broke the game open in the third quarter by booting two goals while holding the Kangaroos scoreless as their superior fitness shone through.

Eastern Zone representative Amy Shapley was a significant difference-maker for the premiers, fittingly being awarded the medal for best-on-ground.

Berri ruck Kelsee Kregar was also influential at the stoppages, gaining plenty of distance with her hitouts while teammate Stacey Geyer hit the scoreboard with three goals.

Barmera-Monash started brightly with fierce intent during the first half before fading with the exception of Darcee Troy, who fought valiantly for the Roos throughout the contest.

Roos captain Jessica Linsell, also an Eastern Zone representative, and solitary goal kicker Grace Kelly, were other strong performers for the visitors.

Berri has won every premiership since the establishment of the RWFL – 2018, 2019, 2021 and 2022. There was no competition played in 2020 due to Covid-19.

Action from the 2022 Riverland Women’s Football League Grand Final at Berri. Picture – Grant Schwartzkopff


Berri    1.1  2.3  4.5  5.9 (39)

Barmera-Monash  0.1  1.2  1.3  1.3 (9)

BEST – Berri: Amy Shapley, Kady Schwertfeger, Kelsee Kregar, Paris Tieste, Stacey Geyer

Barmera-Monash: Darcee Troy, Sophie Venning, Holly Sharrad-Jones, Jessica Linsell, Eliza Berlage, Grace Kelly

GOALS – Berri: Stacey Geyer 3, Amy Shapley, Dakota Glassey

Bamera-Monash: Grace Kelly

2022 RWFL Grand Final Medallist – Amy Shapley (Berri). Picture – Grant Schwartzkopff

Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.