2024 Community Football Interleague Match Wraps

Barossa Light Gawler vs Riverland @ Berri Oval

For the first time since 2009, the Barossa, Light and Gawler competition returned to interleague football, travelling up to the Riverland town of Berri to tackle the Riverland Football League, coached by Damien Stevens.

On the back of a Mark Pitman Medal winning performance by former Central District and Adelaide Crows SANFL player Isaya McKenzie, where he kicked 5.4 as part of the midfield rotation, the BLG lads had a 64-point win.

A former West Adelaide and South Adelaide footballer and older brother of Adelaide Crow, Izak – Matthew Rankine, key forward Gavin Shephard, co-captain Tyson Irlam, a third Indigenous talent with 31 disposals, Joseph Fenwick and Nicholas Gregurke all were strong performers.

Small forward from Nuriootpa Jack Henke chimed in with three goals.

Riverland team captain, Barmera Monash’s Sam Butterworth was its best player.

Others to take the eye for the Riverland included Tim Woolford, the evergreen Renmark talent and former SANFL Bulldog Josh Vater, Bailey White and Bailey Boughen.


Note – the Late Mark Pitman originally hailed from Spalding, came through the ranks at Central District, captained the Bulldogs to the 1982 Under 19s flag, before playing league football with them and South Adelaide.

He won three Mail Medals in the BLG, and was a key to the 1994 Freeling flag, before coaching Tanunda to Grand Finals, and Kapunda to the 2004-05 premierships, along with being a strong advocate for representative football, both as a player and coach.

Barossa, Light and Gawler’s Isaya McKenzie with the Mark Pitman Medal. Picture – Peter Argent

2024 Nutrien Ag Solutions Cup @ Clare Oval

Played at Clare Oval this year, the 2024 Nutrien Ag Solutions Cup was collected by the hosts North Eastern, after defeating Yorke Peninsula in the Final by a comfortable 26-point margin.

Former Yorke Peninsula and WWT Eagles footballer Lachlan Hoile, who kicked three goals in the final and now is at the RSMU Hawks was North Eastern’s best, followed by big man William Pratt, along with the SANFL experienced Dustin Launer and Jackson Lee.

Jack Elsworthy, Matthew Appleton and SA Outbacks cricketer Angus Glazbrook (two goals) were the “Yorkies” best in the decider.

Northern Areas were strong winners in the third place playoff match against the Adelaide Plains, with Crystal Brook’s (and former North Adelaide footballer) Will Combe, Darren Hughes, and the mercurial Shane Ballantyne amongst their best.

This year, the NEFL move into the Northern Zone at the SA Country Championships for the first time, after being a part of the Central Zone for over two decades.

Barry Pilmore Cup @ Bice Oval

Played annually between the Great Southern and Southern Leagues, the 2024 edition of the Barry Pilmore Cup was played at Bice Oval.

Five goals up by three quarter time, Southern won the A grade by 23 points, getting home 13.8 (86) to 9.9 (63).

Southern’s Luke Watson, one of the form players of the competition from Aldinga was best on ground, followed by big man D’Arcy Mitchell, former Glenelg junior Bradley Potter and Jordan Etto.

The best player award for Great Southern went to Luke Mitton, while Kain Spinks, Michael Thompson and Matt Dominish all had their moments.

Great Southern won the Open Women’s contest by 16 points, kicking 7.4 (46) to 4.6 (30).

Taylah Scapens, Courtney Gutschmidt and Kalani Bates the victorious visitors best, while Philippa Worthley, Jaime Norup and Chloe Meyers led the way for the Southern Girls.

The victorious Great Southern Women’s team. Picture – Michael Simmons (Fleurieu Sun)

Whyalla Football League verses Spencer Gulf @ Bennett Oval

Played on Saturday, June 1 at Bennett Oval, the Spencer Gulf Football League came from behind to defeat its  hosts, the Whyalla Football League by just over two straight kicks, after being 26 points in arrears at half-time.

The SGL charged home to kick nine goals in the second half, winning 10.8 (68) to 8.7 (55).

Nicholas Kraemer from the Proprietary/Risdon Lions garnered the SGL best player award, while Ethan Gade and Oliver Ebert, with a five-goal haul, were also prominent.

The Whyalla side’s best were Roopena’s Clayton Mesecke, Jack Luders, – the youngest son of West Adelaide’s 1980s star Roger – Cooper Huish, Michael Wanganeen and former Glenelg defender Jarrad Parish.

Mortlock Shield @ Centenary Park

Undefeated across four games, two on Saturday and a pair on Monday, Lincoln City – a combination of personal from the Waybacks, Lincoln South and Tasman clubs – won the 2024 Mortlock Shield.

Western Eyre were runners up with three wins, going down to Lincoln City by six points in the penultimate game of the weekend, effectively a Grand Final, 5.2 (32) to 4.2 (26).

City was coached by Matthew Goodwin and captained by Levi McDonald from South.

This was Lincoln City’s first win since 2012 and third title this century.

Great Flinders was third, followed by Eastern Eyre, while Lincoln Districts – Mallee Park, Marble Range and Boston – were winless.

Classy Jesse Chandler from the Western Eyre was the ‘24 Bampton Medallist and equal leading goal kicker with Johann Wagner from Lincoln City.

Waylon Miller from Lincoln City secured the Wes Crosby Medal, being runner up to Chandler.

The Mortlock Shield has been an integral part of Eyre Peninsula football since 1936.

A showcase women’s game between Red, the Bulldogs, and Blue, the Roos, saw the Red team win 6.3 (39) to 1.4 (10). The best players for the winners were Billie Thomson, Makaya Bryant, Karli Harder and Gabby Simms, while Kalea Siegert, Emilie Fountain and Kelsey Ridley were the leading performers for the vanquished.

2024 Mortlock Shield Winners – Lincoln City. Picture – Quinn Dutschke – Port Lincoln FL

Limestone Coast Football League vs. Mid South East FL @ Blue Lake Sports Park

In the South East of the state, the Limestone Coast Football and Netball League (LCFNL) played the Mid South East (MSEFL) association, with the senior games now played on a rotation basis.

In control for most of the contest at the Blue Lake Sports Park, LCFNL enjoyed a handsome 55-point triumph, with the final scoreboard reading 11.8 (74) to MSEFL 2.7 (19)

Tenacious small man from Millicent, who played for Glenelg and was a SA state Under 16 talent Harry Tunkin was best on ground followed by Andrew Stone, SA state country player Frazer Bradley who kicked four goals, Kalan Shanks and skipper Nick McInerney.

Best of the MSEFL contingent were Michael Telford, Sam Waring, Henry Lawrie and Zac Deane. Next year the MSEFL take on the Kowree Naracoorte Tatiara Football League in these rotations.

Limestone Coast Football League’s winning team. Picture –  Frank Monger Photography


Hills vs River Murray @ Le Messurier Oval (Ramblers Oval – Murray Bridge)

After losing last season, the Hills Football League won the 2024 rematch by 23 points, getting up 12.16 (88) to the River Murray Football League’s 9.11 (65).

In this fixture, the Hills led at each break and were in control at lemons, five goals ahead.

Hills best players included Mount Lofty’s talented half-forward Jake Aish, former Central District defender Dylan Weaver, 2024 Adelaide Crows top up player Dylan Whimpress, ruck-forward Jamie Drew and Tyler Virgo.

For the River Murray side, coached by Imperials mentor Brett Todd, Coorong Cat Alexander Stidiford was strong all game, while Jack Kluske, Ben Moroney, co-captain Jack Penfold and Jack Lewis were their other solid contributors.

Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.