Harris Awarded Golden Whistle Honours

By SANFL Media

SANFL field umpire Mitchell Harris has won the League’s highest umpiring honour, the 2019 Golden Whistle Award.

Announced at a gala ceremony at Adelaide Oval on Friday night, this was the first time Harris has received the prestigious award, making him the 23rd SANFL umpire to be awarded with the Golden Whistle accolade.

Since commencing his umpiring career with the SANFL Academy in 2011, Harris, aged 27, has officiated in 58 games at League level, accumulating 21 of those in season 2019 of the SANFL Statewide Super League.

“With his mature approach, continued commitment and dedication to umpiring, Harris has displayed all the competencies on field at a consistent high level,” said SANFL Umpiring Manager Shane Harris.

“Having continued to focus himself on umpiring at an elite level throughout the 2019 season, Mitchell deservingly booked a place to officiate in his second consecutive SANFL League grand final.”

Experienced SANFL umpire Matthew Wilson took out the 2019 Goal Umpiring Award, after officiating 136 matches at SANFL League level since 2002. Wilson also had a stint with the AFL from 2011 to 2015 in which time he officiated in 47 matches at a national level.

“To win this award after that journey is a true reflection of Mat’s passion, commitment and perseverance,” Shane Harris said.


Umpire of the Year

Golden Whistle               Mitchell Harris

Silver Whistle                 Damian Robinson (Best SANFL boundary umpire)

Goal Umpires Award     Matthew Wilson

Most Improved Award

Field Umpire                    Thomas Bryce

Boundary Umpire           Elliott Raymond

Goal Umpire                    James Georgiadis

Mark Posa Award for Outstanding New Talent

Taylor Dorsey

Andrew Vickers Medallion (high-achieving umpire)

Michael Schramm

David Elliott Award for Outstanding Service to Umpiring

Theron Philp