SA Football Commission

The SA Football Commission manages and controls the affairs of the SANFL, including its major financial investments and the appointment of committees.

The Commission comprises seven non-executive elected members and two non-executive appointed Commissioners. Elected Commissioners are appointed for a three-year term by the League Directors and appointed Commissioners are appointed by the elected Commissioners for one year terms.

The Commission’s actions are bound by the Associations Incorporation Act, the SANFL Constitution and the League’s own regulations.

SA Football Commissioner

  • John Olsen’s connections  with football can be traced to hisearly involvement with theKadina Football Club whenMayor of Kadina. An avid West Adelaide supporter, he was the club’s number one ticket holder for 17 years and is a Life Member.
  • John was appointed as a member of the SA Football Commission in February 2010 and became Chairman and SANFL President in November of that year.
  • He served as South Australian Premier from 1996 to 2001 and Australian Consul-General in Los Angeles and New York from 2002 to 2009. He is also a Fellow of the National Institute of Accountants.

SA Football Commissioner 

  • Philip Gallagher had an outstanding playing career with Norwood, appearing in 292 games, captaining the club (1981–82), playing in
    four premierships and eight interstate games before moving into administration as a League Director (1995–99) and club Chairman (1996–99).
  • A Chartered Accountant, Philip has been a member of the SA Football Commission since 2000 and has served as Chairman of the Audit Committee and as a membe
    of the Finance Committee since their inception.
  • Life Member of SANFL and Norwood Football Club. Inducted into the SA Football Hall of Fame in 2014 and member of the Norwood Football Club Hall of Fame.

SA Football Commissioner

  • Appointed a member of the SA Football Commission in 2010, public accountant and tax agent Richard Allen served as treasurer of the Sturt Football Club from 1995–2010.
  • He was also President of Sturt for six years from 2005.
  • A former amateur league player, he is a Life Member of Scotch Old Collegians, the South Australian Amateur Football League and Sturt. Richard is a member of the Institute of Public Accountants and a Fellow of the Tax Institute of Australia.

SA Football Commissioner

  • Appointed a member of the Commission in 2016, Peter Lindner has been involved with Country Football for the past 26 years where he played in 5 winning premierships with Olympic Dam Football Club, Captain in 98 playing a total of 138 games.
  • Elected to the Olympic Dam Football Club Committee in 1991, Peter held positions of Secretary in 1992, Chairman for the next 9 years and then President for 4 years before standing down in 2005.
  • President of the Woomera & Districts Football League in 2005–2008 and nominated as Patron in 2009.
  • Life Member of the Olympic Dam Football Club, Life Member of Woomera & Districts Football League and Merit Award Recipient of the SANFL.
  • Member of the Community Football Board.

SA Football Commissioner

  • A Commissioner since 2004, lawyer Dion McCaffrie’s administrative experience in football stretches back to the 1980s.
  • A member of West Adelaide’s management committee for 13 years, Dion became club Chairman in 1993 and President in 1994 and retained those positions until joining the Commission
  • He served as a League Director for 11 years, was a member of the SANFL Boundaries Commission in 1990 and was awarded SANFL Life Membership in 2005.

SA Football Commissioner

  • Appointed a member of the Commission in March 2015 and was the first female Commissioner since the SA Football Commission
    began in 1991.
  • Holds a Bachelor of Accounting and a Graduate Certificate in Management
  • Former Chief Executive of SA Lotteries 1995–2014.
  • Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, CPA Australia and the Australian Institute of Management.
  • Current board member of SA Health and Medical Research Institute and Forestry Corporation SA.
  • Member of the Essential Services Commission of SA.

SA Football Commissioner

  • Appointed a member of the Commission in November 2017.
  • 20 years of digital marketing experience, founder and managing director of local agency The Distillery and startup incubator The Moonshine Lab.
  • Current board member of the Rosemary Foundation. Former board member of Alzheimers Australia SA, and spent 5 years on the board of the Association for Data-driven Marketing and Advertising – Australia’s peak body for the digital communications industry.
  • A former amateur league football player, Jason continues to be involved at club level as a player, manager, parent and sponsor.

SA Football Commissioner

  • Appointed a member of the Commission in 2016.
  • Former General Manager of High Performance at Netball SA.
  • High Performance Accredited Netball Coach, former dual championship Adelaide Thunderbirds Head Coach; Australian Diamonds and Australian Fast 5 Flyers Assistant Coach.
  • Holds a Bachelor of Education and Masters of Applied Science (Sports Coaching).
  • Current Head of Sport Development and High Performance at Westminster School.
  • Published Author with Human Kinetics, Director of Activebods Pty Ltd active wear company.

SA Football Commissioner

  • A former player with Central District (1974–77) Tom Zorich’s involvement in football administration began when he was appointed to the club’s Board in 1994.
  • He would go on to fill roles as Vice-Chairman, Football Director and more recently, as Chairman of the Central District Football Club. He was appointed to the SA Football Commission in 2011.
  • A successful retailer, Tom is Managing Director of the Zorich Group.


The SANFL League Directors represent the interests of the SANFL clubs – Central District, Glenelg, North Adelaide, Norwood, South Adelaide, Sturt, West Adelaide and Woodville-West Torrens.

A Community Football delegate serves alongside the League Directors to ensure the interests of grassroots football are represented at the highest level.

The League Directors are also responsible for appointing elected members to the SA Football Commission.

These directors are:

  • David Cavenett (Central District)
  • Nick Chigwidden (Glenelg)
  • Malcolm Ellis (North Adelaide)
  • Paul Di Iulio (Norwood)
  • Peter Alexander APM (South Adelaide)
  • Donald Stephens (Sturt)
  • John Levy (West Adelaide)
  • Kurt Slaven (Woodville-West Torrens)
  • The Hon. Rob Kerin (Community Football)