Published on: Dec 20 2018 | Author: Zac Milbank |


SANFL is pleased to announce its long-term partnership with Coca-Cola Amatil in SA has been extended for a further five years.

The new agreement will see the continuation of the Powerade Breakthrough Player Award for the most outstanding rising talent in the SANFL Statewide Super League and Women’s League.

SANFL CEO Jake Parkinson said that since 2007 the Powerade Breakthrough Player Award has recognised and rewarded the most brilliant up-and-coming stars in SANFL football, such as 2016 winner and Sturt Premiership player Jarrod Lienert who made his AFL debut with Port Adelaide in 2018.

“Coca-Cola Amatil has been a long-term Premier Partner of SANFL and its sponsorship of the Powerade Breakthrough Player Award, extending to our elite women’s competition two years ago, is demonstrative of its commitment to South Australian grassroots sport,” Mr Parkinson said.

The Powerade Breakthrough Player Award sees one player nominated after every minor round of both the men’s and women’s League, with the over

Coca-Cola Amatil State Customer Marketing Manager Danielle Tsogas with SANFL CEO Jake Parkinson

all winner earning a prize of $2,000 at the season’s end. Nominees must be aged 23 or under and have played no more than 10 SANFL games at the start of the year.

The 2018 Powerade Breakthrough Player was Central District’s Jackson Hately, who went at pick number 14 to Greater Western Sydney in this year’s AFL Draft. Chloe Scheer and Nikki Gore, drafted to Adelaide this year in the AFLW Draft, were crowned the SANFL Statewide Super Women’s League Powerade Breakthrough Players in 2017 and 2018 respectively.

Coca-Cola Amatil State Customer Marketing Manager Danielle Tsogas said the company was thrilled to be partnering with another iconic South Australian brand in SANFL until 2023.

“Coca-Cola Amatil is proud to be part of SANFL’s future in this state. Over the past 25 years we’ve delivered excitement and refreshment to the local crowds and we look forward to kicking more goals with future-focussed initiatives such as the Powerade Breakthrough Player.”

Pictured above (L-R): Craig Robinson, Neal Matotek, Brett Gillett, Danielle Tsogas, Jake Parkinson and Lachlan Kitson


Major Partner

Premier Partners

Corporate Partners

Government Partners