Published on: Sep 25 2018 | Author: Zac Milbank |

West Adelaide’s Jono Beech and Norwood’s Mitch Grigg have won the 2018 Statewide Super Mark and Goal of the Year.

Bloods forward Beech edged out Sturt’s Shane McAdam and North’s Leigh Ryswyk after getting plenty of hang time against Port Adelaide in Round 7.

The former Crow charged at the incoming ball on the outer wing at Alberton, before gaining a ride from Magpie Trent McKenzie and team-mate Mason Middleton.

Grigg, who added the Jack Oatey Medal to his second Magarey Medal this year, added the Statewide Super Goal of the Year gong to his collection for his fine running goal against North Adelaide in Round 18.

Defying the wet and slippery conditions at The Parade, Grigg gathered the ball on the Grandstand wing before taking four bounces and nailing his shot on the run from 45m out.

And to make the degree of difficulty even tougher, the 25-year-old was close to the boundary line on the most difficult angle for a left-footer.

He edged out Port Adelaide pair Aidyn Johnson and Jake Neade to claim top honours.

The fields were narrowed down to seven contenders for each category, with the fan voting via SANFL’s Twitter account used as a guide to select the most eye-catching candidates from the 2018 minor round.

A SANFL selection panel chose the overall winners of the 2018 Statewide Super Mark and Goal of the Year, with each player earning a $500 prize courtesy of Statewide Super.