Published on: Jul 05 2018 | Author: Zac Milbank |

Six McDonald’s SA Under-18 players have been selected in the AFL All-Australian team after South Australia claimed the 2018 crown with an undefeated run at this year’s National Championships.

Norwood’s Luke Valente earned a berth in the midfield while also being named as the All-Australian vice-captain while Central District on-baller Jackson Hately was named as a ball-winning forward.

Star pair Jack Lukosius (Eagles) and Izak Rankine (West Adelaide) were not surprisingly named in attack, with Rankine booting 5.2 in the title-decider against Victoria Metro on Wednesday.

It is Rankine’s second All-Australian jumper after he earned selection last year as a 17-year-old.

Intercept king Jez McLennan (Central District) enhanced his standing after being named as an All-Australian defender.

Underage Glenelg backman Will Gould had his consistent campaign recognised with a place on the interchange bench, with the strongly-built Tiger not eligible for this year’s AFL Draft.

McDonald’s SA Under-18 coach Tony Bamford was fittingly recognised as the All-Australian coach after guiding his side to victory in his first year at the helm.

AFL Talent Ambassador Kevin Sheehan headed the selection panel which included:

Luke Power                 NAB AFL Academy Head Coach

Marcus Ashcroft         AFL Talent Competitions and Operations

Dom Milesi                 Recruiting Manager, Collingwood Football Club

Troy Selwood             Recruiting Manager, Geelong Football Club

Luke Williams            Recruiting Officer, Richmond Football Club

Chris Liberatore          Recruiting Manager, St Kilda Football Club


Defenders: Jez McLennan (South Australia), Jacob Koschitzke (Allies), Isaac Quaynor (Vic Metro), Buku Khamis (Vic Metro), Kyle Reid (Vic Country), Jordan Clark (Western Australia)

Midfielders: Luke English (Western Australia), Kieren Briggs (Allies), Bailey Smith (Vic Metro), Luke Valente (South Australia), Sam Walsh (Vic Country), Chayce Jones (Allies)

Forwards: Bailey Scott (Allies), Jack Lukosius (South Australia), Jackson Hately (South Australia), Izak Rankine (South Australia), Ben King (Vic Metro), Rhylee West (Vic Metro)

Interchange: Sydney Stack (Western Australia), Connor McFadyen (Allies), Mitch O’Neill (Allies), Will Gould (South Australia), Jeremy Sharp (Western Australia)

Coach: Tony Bamford (South Australia)

Assistant coach: Lance Spaulding (Tasmania)

Captain: Sam Walsh

Vice-captain: Luke Valente


Major Partner

Premier Partners

Corporate Partners

Government Partners