Published on: May 18 2018 | Author: Zac Milbank |

As many as 17 of the 24 players selected in the 2018 Statewide Super SA U18 Girls Squad will boast senior experience ahead of this year’s AFL National Championships.

Finalised on Sunday, the squad includes as many as five SANFL Statewide Super Women’s League Team of the Year members, including South Adelaide’s Nikki Gore and Jaslynne Smith, North Adelaide’s Katelyn Rosenzweig and Esther Boles, as well as West Adelaide ball magnet Rachelle Martin.

Speaking on SANFL Radio, SANFL Female Talent Manager Robbie Neill said the depth of ability had improved on previous squads such is the strength of this year’s crop.

In a strong sign for the future, at least 12 players will be eligible to to play in the Statewide Super SA U18 Girls Squad next year while two highly-regarded Under-16 players – Abbie Ballard and Teah Charlton – have also been rewarded with selection.

The Croweaters will clash with Northern Territory in two matches at TIO Stadium in Darwin on Friday May 25 and Sunday May 27.

SA and NT will then combine to become the Central Allies to take part in the 2018 AFL U18 National Championships on the Gold Coast from July 9 to 13.

Coached again by Bill Economou, SA’s girls came together for a two-day camp at Warradale in late April to make the most of a rare opportunity to train together due to previous SANFL Statewide Super Women’s League commitments.

South’s Madison Bennett was unable to be selected for the two matches against the NT due to a fractured leg but she could prove her fitness in time for the trip to Queensland should she be chosen.


1. Esther Boles (North Adelaide)

2. Madisyn Freeman (Glenelg)

3. Marie Martino (West Adelaide)

4. Rachel Dunstan (Woodville-West Torrens/Sturt)

5. Katelyn Rosenzweig (Central District/North Adelaide)

6. Tesharna Maher (West Adelaide)

7. Jaslynne Smith (South Adelaide)

8. Hannah Munyard (South Adelaide)

9. Jaimi Tabb (Woodville-West Torrens/West Adelaide)

10. Madison Newman (West Adelaide)

12. Thandi Murada (Norwood)

13. Kiana Lee (Woodville-West Torrens)

14. Bella Smith (Norwood)

15. Kimberly Fry (Central District)

16. Rachelle Martin (West Adelaide)

17. Nikki Gore (South Adelaide)

18. Emma Smith (West Adelaide)

19. Abbie Ballard (West Adelaide)

21. Paxton Davis-Mattner (Sturt)

22. Maya Rigter (Sturt)

23. Shai Hiscock (North Adelaide)

24. Amber Ward (North Adelaide)

25. Teah Charlton (South Adelaide)

26. Montana McKinnon (South Adelaide)

COACH – Bill Economou

ASSISTANT COACH – Tess Baxter (Backs)

ASSISTANT COACH – Craig Lum (Midfield)

ASSISTANT COACH – Rick Watts (Forwards)


Major Partner

Premier Partners

Corporate Partners

Government Partners