Published on: Sep 13 2017 | Author: Zac Milbank |

South Adelaide midfielder Joel Cross has had yet another eye-catching campaign recognised by winning the 2017 R. O Shearman Medal.

Polling 62 votes, the ultra-consistent Magarey Medallist held off a serious challenge from Central District midfielder Nick Holman, who finished just two votes behind the Panthers’ vice-captain.

Norwood’s Jack Oatey Medallist Matt Panos was next on the leaderboard with 58 votes, followed by Sturt’s James Battersby, who did extremely well to finish with 55 after being struck down by a finger injury in the early part of the season.

It is the second time Cross has won the R. O Shearman Medal, with the 30-year-old claiming honours in 2015. He is also the only South Adelaide player to win the award since its inception in 2000.

Voted on a 5-4-3-2-1 basis by the SANFL coaches during the minor round, the R. O Shearman Medal voting appears weekly in the SANFL Budget, with several mystery rounds creating suspense.

The medal is named after five-time Sturt premiership player and SA Football Hall of Fame member Bob Shearman.

Triple Magarey Medallist James Allan has dominated the award, claiming a record six R. O Shearman Medals playing for North Adelaide, sharing it with Sturt’s Jade Sheedy in 2008.

2017 R. O Shearman Medal
Joel Cross (South Adelaide) 62 votes
Nick Holman (Central District) 60 votes
Matt Panos (Norwood) 58 votes
James Battersby (Sturt) 55 votes
Brendon AhChee (Port) 54 votes
Harrison Wigg (Adelaide) 51 votes
Nick Liddle (South Adelaide) 51 votes
Aaron Young (Port Adelaide) 51 votes

Honour Roll
2000 – Gavin Colville (Woodville-West Torrens)
2001 – Ryan O’Connor (Port Adelaide)
2002 – Jade Sheedy (Sturt)
2003 – Brett Backwell (Glenelg)/Marco Bello (Central District)
2004 – Salim Hassan (West Adelaide)
2005 – Jeremy Clayton (Port Adelaide)
2006 – Justin Cicolella (Woodville-West Torrens)
2007 – James Allan (North Adelaide)
2008 – James Allan (North Adelaide)/Jade Sheedy (Sturt)
2009 – James Allan (North Adelaide)
2010 – James Allan (North Adelaide)
2011 – James Allan (North Adelaide)
2012 – James Allan (North Adelaide)
2013 – Matt Thomas (Norwood)
2014 – Steven Summerton (Port)
2015 – Joel Cross (South Adelaide)
2016 – Jared Petrenko (Woodville-West Torrens)


Major Partner

Premier Partners

Corporate Partners

Government Partners