Published on: Sep 06 2017 | Author: Zac Milbank |

Selectors have released the 40-player squad for The 2017 Advertiser SANFL Team of the Year, with Woodville-West Torrens and Sturt dominating selection.

Featuring at least one representative from each SANFL club, The Advertiser SANFL Team of the Year squad will be trimmed to a placed team of 21 at a function on Tuesday September 19.

The coach of the 2017 Advertiser SANFL Team of the Year will also be named, together with the captain and vice-captain.

The Eagles and Sturt – last year’s Grand Finalists – each have eight players chosen, including the 2016 Team of the Year captain Zane Kirkwood and his deputy Luke Thompson.

Double Blues Sam Colquhoun and Pat Wilson are new faces, with Colquhoun enjoying a strong year since arriving from the Power and Wilson posting a breakout season in the midfield after missing last year’s premiership with a shoulder injury.

Eagles recruit Jake Johansen has found plenty of the ball since crossing over from Glenelg while Joe Sinor has been a revelation across half-back for the Eagles.

Elimination Finalists Norwood and Central District each have five representatives, Bulldogs ball magnets Travis Schiller and Nick Holman have had sensational seasons while Redlegs Mitch Grigg and Matt Panos will be strong candidates to start in the midfield.

Four Port Adelaide players are present with Ken Farmer Medallist Brett Eddy almost certain to lock in the full forward position while big-bodied midfielder Brendon Ah Chee has produced an influential season in the centre square.

Glenelg and South Adelaide each have three players, with APY Lands product Dom Barry catching the eye with his run and carry from the wing for the Bays while Matt Rose has been arguably the Panthers’ most consistent player in 2017.

Adelaide veteran Scott Thompson and Harrison Wigg have been integral cogs in the Crows’ midfield in the Macca’s League, with the latter averaging in excess of 25 disposals.

Cellar-dwellars West Adelaide and North Adelaide each have one player chosen, with Kaine Stevens and Lewis Hender both deserving of consideration in the final 21.

Players were selected on their form across the entire minor round, with AFL-listed players eligible for Macca’s League finals also considered eligible for the Advertiser SANFL Team of the Year.

This year’s team will be selected by SANFL’s Adam Kelly, Tom Hurley and Zac Milbank, Channel 7’s Mark Soderstrom and The Advertiser’s Chief SANFL Writer, Warren Partland.

2017 The Advertiser SANFL Team of the Year Squad

Scott Thompson, Harrison Wigg

Central District
Travis Schiller, Nick Holman, Darcy Fort, Justin Hoskin, Chris Jansen

Matt Snook, Terry Milera, Dom Barry

Sam Baulderstone, Matt Panos, Mitch Grigg, Kristian Roocke, Alex Georgiou

North Adelaide
Lewis Hender

Port Adelaide
Brett Eddy, Brendon Ah Chee, Steven Summerton, Jimmy Toumpas

South Adelaide
Matt Rose, Joel Cross, Nick Liddle

James Battersby, Pat Wilson, Aidan Riley, Zane Kirkwood, Kory Beard, Fraser Evans, Jack Stephens, Sam Colquhoun

West Adelaide
Kaine Stevens

Woodville-West Torrens
Jared Petrenko, Scott Lewis, Nick Hayes, Jake Johansen, Joe Sinor, Luke Thompson, Chris Hall, Paul Stewart


Major Partner

Premier Partners

Supporting Partners

Government Partners