Published on: May 15 2017 | Author: Zac Milbank |

South Australia’s Under-18 Girls team have proven themselves on the national stage after comfortably beating Tasmania and the Northern Territory in consecutive nights.

After accounting for Tasmania by 49 points at City Mazda Stadium on Friday night, the Croweaters backed up their first effort by thrashing the Top End by 90 points in the AFL curtain-raiser at Adelaide Oval on Saturday evening.

The two wins ensure South Australia will win the Tri-Series while several of SA’s stars including Chloe Scheer, Brianna Walling and Eloise Jones, who hit the scoreboard on a regular basis, will be considered for selection in the Allies line up.

Speaking on SANFL Radio, SA U18 Girls Coach Bill Economou said his squad were aiming for selection in the Allies team for the 2017 U18 National Championships in July as well as showing plenty of pride in the cherished red guernsey.

SA was led by Glenelg pair Jessica Allan (captain) and Tait Mackrill (vice-captain) with plenty of attention surrounding Powerade Star Search winner Chloe Scheer, who had an exceptional season for North Adelaide in the SANFL Statewide Super Women’s League.

Norwood’s Nikki Gore, the only Croweater in the AFL Women’s Academy, was itching to get back into the action after her overseas holiday while soccer-convert Madison Bennett is another to keep an eye on as she continues her rapid progress.

Selectors will be watching the Tri-Series matches closely, with the best players from each of the states to represent the Allies on the Gold Coast for the 2017 U18 National Championships.

AFLW U18's Championships


Game 1 City Mazda Stadium: Friday 12th May
SA 9.4 (58) defeated Tasmania 1.3 (9)
SA Goals: C.Scheer 2, E.Boles 2 , E.Jones 2, B.Bosley, B.Walling & J.Tabb

Game 2: Saturday 13th May Adelaide Oval
SA 15.9 (99) defeated Northern Territory 1.3 (9)
SA Goals: B.Walling, C.Scheer 4 E.Jones 2, B.Maslen, E.Boles, J.Tabb, J.Allan & M.Bennett

Game 3: Sunday 14th May

Tasmania v Northern Territory
10am @ City Mazda Stadium



1 Esther Boles
2 Madisyn Freeman
3 Olivia Fuller
4 Chloe Scheer
5 Katelyn Rosenzweig
7 Jaslynne Smith
8 Amber James
9 Kyesha Christensen
10 Jessica Allan (C)
11 Eloise Jones
12 Tait Mackrill (VC)
13 Brianna Walling
15 Jaimi Tabb
17 Nikki Gore
18 Emma Smith
19 Bronwen Bosley
20 Madison Bennett
21 Paxton Davis-Mattner
22 Ella McDonald
23 Bree Maslen
26 Montana McKinnon
27 Nicola D’Angelo
33 Tareeka Kartinyeri
44 Rachel Dunstan

Coach: Bill Economou


Major Partner

Premier Partners

Supporting Partners

Government Partners