Published on: Jul 29 2014 | Author: admin |

Ten of the state’s most outstanding contributors have been inducted into the South Australian Football Hall of Fame at Adelaide Oval on Tuesday night.

By ZAC MILBANK | Twitter @zacmilbank

Ten of the state’s most outstanding contributors have been inducted into the South Australian Football Hall of Fame at Adelaide Oval on Tuesday night.

Established in 2002 to enshrine those who have made a ‘’most significant contribution to the game of Australian Football’’, the SA Football Hall of Fame now includes 194 players, coaches,
umpires, administrators and media representatives.

The 2014 inductees now on the prestigious honour roll are:

A South Adelaide premiership player, Cahill was a dashing wingman who displayed great skill with the Panthers from 1933 to 1947. A member of Richmond’s 1943 VFL premiership side, Cahill played 11 matches for South Australia between 1936 and 1939. A two-time best-and-fairest winner with South, Cahill also won the Bay Sheffield foot race in 1936.

The cornerstone of Port Adelaide’s defence in its inaugural AFL premiership in 2004, Cornes played 239 AFL matches for the Power between 1999 and 2011. A dual All-Australian, the passionate backman finished his AFL playing career by playing 16 matches with Greater Western Sydney, where is currently an assistant coach.

A dual premiership player with Adelaide in 1997 and 1998, Edwards was one of the club’s most consistent players across 321 matches between 1995 and 2010. Runner up in the Malcolm Blight Medal as Crows best-and-fairest on three occasions, Edwards began his career as a small defender before developing into a fine midfielder. Awarded Life Membership at Adelaide in 2004, Edwards is currently a development coach at cross-town rival Port Adelaide.

A four-time premiership player with the Norwood Football Club, Gallagher featured in 292 matches while kicking 216 goals for the Redlegs between 1973 and 1986. Having also represented South Australia on eight occasions, Gallagher was an inaugural inductee to the Norwood Football Club Hall of Fame in 2006. The 1982 premiership captain was awarded SANFL Life Membership in 2010 and has served on the SA Football Commission since 2000.

A nine-time premiership player with Central District, Chris Gowans registered 246 games and 332 goals for the Bulldogs between 2000 and 2012. A four-time SANFL State team representative, the consistent on-baller won two Jack Oatey Medals in 2003 and 2007 as well as the 2007 Bob Quinn Medal as best afield on Anzac Day.

A nine-time premiership player with Central District, James Gowans tallied 245 games and 270 goals for the Bulldogs between 2000 and 2012. Winner of Central’s 2003 best-and-fairest award, James Gowans also won the 2000 Jack Oatey Medal and 2002 Bob Quinn Medal. The rugged midfielder represented the SANFL State team on five occasions.


A dual North Adelaide premiership player, Hart played a total of 236 SANFL matches for the Roosters and Central District between 1980 and 1994. A two-time best-and-fairest winner at North, Hart claimed the Jack Oatey Medal after being judged best afield in the 1991 SANFL Grand Final. After hanging up the boots, Hart turned his attention to coaching where he guided North’s league team in 1993-95 and 2002-03 and was Malcolm Blight’s assistant during Adelaide’s 1997-98 AFL premierships.

A cult hero throughout his career at the Adelaide Football Club, Modra thrilled the Crows’ faithful while kicking 440 goals from 118 matches between 1993 and 1998. The high-flying forward was a five-time leading goalkicker for the Crows, which included a 129-goal haul in 1993 and the Coleman Medal in 1997. Known for taking spectacular marks, Modra was a three-time winner of AFL Mark of the Year.

A five-time winner of the prestigious Golden Whistle Award, field umpire Tim Pfeiffer officiated in 416 SANFL league games between 1991 and 2009. Also reaching the highest level to register 44 AFL matches between 1994 and 1997, Pfeiffer featured in 10 SANFL Grand Finals between 1994 and 2009. Pfeiffer officiated in five state matches between 1995 and 2002.


A lion-hearted ruckman across 157 AFL matches with Port Adelaide and Fitzroy between 1996 and 2005, Primus began his career with SANFL club Norwood in 1994. Winning the Redlegs’ best-and-fairest in 1995, Primus captained the Power between 2001 and 2005. A dual All-Australian in 2001-02, Primus won Port’s best-and-fairest award in 2002.

The SA Football Hall of Fame is divided into five eras – 1877-1900, 1901-1930, 1931-1960, 1961-1990 and 1991-present day.

Inductees are selected by the South Australian Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee, which comprises Max Basheer (Chairman), Laurie Argent, John Halbert AM MBE, Bob Hammond AM, Neil Kerley AM, Chris McDermott, Michelangelo Rucci and Bill Sanders.