Fos Williams Medallist

The Fos Williams Medal is awarded to the best player on the ground for South Australia in interstate clashes, and previously, in State of Origin matches.

First awarded in 1981, it is named in honour of Port Adelaide great Fos Williams.

A member of the South Australian Football Hall of Fame, Williams represented South Australia on 34 occasions throughout his decorated career.

Captaining the Croweaters from 1954 to 1958, Williams also coached SA from 1955 to 1958, 1960 to 1966 and 1968 to 1969.

He played in six premierships for the Magpies while also coaching his beloved black-and-whites to the ultimate success on nine occasions.

1981P Carey (Glenelg)WA at Subiaco
1982S Copping (Essendon / Glenelg)VIC at Football Pk
1982P Weston (Glenelg)WA at Football Pk
1982G Phillips (Port)WA at Subiaco
1983M Aish (Norwood)VIC at Football Pk
1983C Williams (West)WA at Football Park
1984S Kernahan (Glenelg)VIC at Football Pk
1984G McIntosh (Norwood)WA at Football Pk
1985P Motley (Sturt)VIC at Football Pk
1985C Bradley (Port)WA at Football Pk
1986C Bradley (Carlton / Port)VIC at Football Pk
1986A Jarman (North)WA at Football Pk
1987C McDermott (Glenelg), A Jarman (North)VIC at Football Pk
1988M Mickan (Brisbane/West)NSW at Football Pk
1988S Kernahan (Carlton/Glenelg)VIC at Football Pk
1988M Redden (North)WA at Football Pk
1989A Jarman (North)VIC at MCG
1990A Jarman (Norwood)WA at Football Pk
1991C Bradley (Carlton/Port)VIC at Football Pk
1991M Naley (South)WA at Subicao
1992G McIntosh (Norwood)WA at Football Pk
1992D Hynes (West Coast/Port)VIC at Football Pk
1993T Lynn (Central)WA at Subiaco
1993G Anderson (Crows/Port)WA at Football Pk
1993C Bradley (Carlton/Port)VIC at MCG
1994A Jarman (Crows/Norwood)VIC at Football Pk
1995G McIntosh (Norwood)TAS at North Hobart
1995S Tregenza (Crows/Port)VIC at MCG
1996A Modra (Crows/West)WA at Football Pk
1996J Francou (North)WA at Football Pk
1997J Thiessen (Norwood)ACT at ACTAFL Pk, Canberra
1997B Lyle (Power/Port)Victoria at Football Pk
1998P McCormack (Norwood)WA at Football Pk
1998M O’Loughlin (Sydney/Central)WA at Football Pk
1999A Harvey (Norwood)VIC at MCG
1999A McKay (Calrton/Glenelg)VIC at MCG
2000S Carter (Port)WA at Adelaide Oval
2001B Hollands (West)VIC at Adelaide Oval
2002B Hollands (West)VIC at Adelaide Oval
2003B Backwell (Glenelg)WA at Fremantle Oval
2005S Borlace (Norwood)VIC at TEAC Oval, Pt Melbourne
2006D Schell (Central)WA at Adelaide Oval
2008C Alleway (North)VIC at Adelaide Oval
2009J Sheedy (Sturt)WA at MediBank Stadium
2012A Grocke (Eagles)WA at Gliderol Stadium
2013R Ferguson (West)NEAFL at City Mazda Stadium
2014Z Kirkwood (Sturt)VFL at North Port Oval
2015T Keough (West)WA at Lathlain Park