Bob Quinn Medallist

The Bob Quinn Medal is awarded to the best player on the ground in the SANFL’s traditional Anzac Day clash between the previous year’s Grand Finalists.

A member of the South Australian Football Hall of Fame, Quinn played 239 games for Port Adelaide between 1933 and 1947 – including the combined Port/Torrens team during the Second World War.

A dogged forward who kicked 386 goals during his career, he was captain/coach of the Magpies in 1939, 1940 and between 1945 and 1947.

After just six games of the 1940 season, Quinn enlisted with the Australian Army and was sent to North Africa to fight with the Allies against the Axis forces in Tobruk.

It was on that battlefield that he would earn the Military Medal for courage, leadership and devotion in battle during August 1941.

Returning to Australia and playing with combined Port/Torrens team, Quinn resumed as captain of Port Adelaide in 1945, winning his second Magarey Medal to go with his first in 1938.

2002J GowansCentral
2003P ThomasCentral
2004P ThomasCentral
2005L PowellEagles
2006M PassadorEagles
2007C GowansCentral
2008P ThomasCentral
2009C O'SullivanCentral
2010J SheedySturt
2011P ThomasCentral
2012R WilliamsCentral
2013M SucklingNorwood
2014J ShannonNorth
2015P PersinosNorwood
2016J PetrenkoEagles
2017A PooleEagles
2018F EvansSturt