Published on: Jun 18 2017 | Author: Zac Milbank |

Murray South East will look to continue its recent dominance when the MAC SA Country Championships are held in Murray Bridge on Saturday July 8 and Sunday July 9.

Often the hard luck story during the two-day carnival’s history, Murray South East has won two of the past three titles after claiming the crown in 2014 and 2016.

The Saints-coloured outfit will be looking to make the most of its ”home-ground” advantage when the Championships are conducted at Johnstone Park, the home of River Murray Football League club Imperials.

One of six Country zones competing for the coveted trophy, Murray South East is made up of the best players from the RMFL, Kowree Naracoorte Tatiara FL, Mid South East FL and Western Border FL.

More than 150 players and 250 support staff will flock to the largest city in the Murray Mallee for the qualifying matches played on Saturday, to determine the rankings for Sunday’s finals.

Speaking on SANFL Radio, Rural City of Murray Bridge Mayor Brenton Lewis said he was hopeful city residents would also make the short trip down the South Eastern Freeway to watch the best country footballers on display.

Financial spin offs for the local area will include housing those involved at Hotels, Motels and Motor Lodges, with outlying towns such as Tailem Bend and Mannum also set to benefit.

Imperials FC President Phil Rance said they had more than 100 three-hour shifts to fill from their extensive pool of 80 volunteers as they offer canteen, bar and barbecue facilities on game day, as well as hosting the MAC SA Country Championships Official Dinner on Saturday night.

Other RMFL clubs such as Tailem Bend, Mannum, Jervois, Mypolonga and Ramblers will also prepare dinner and breakfast for the players staying in their area with the latter club also hosting the MAC Player and Official Seminar.


           Group One                                                        Group Two

  1. Murray South East                                         2. Southern Districts
  2. Western                                                            4. Northern
  3. Central                                                              6. Eastern

Qualifying Matches – Saturday July 8 (Johnstone Park, Murray Bridge)
10:00am  Northern (4) v  Eastern (6)
11:10am  Western (3)   v  Central (5)
12:20am Southern (2) v  Northern (4)
1:30pm Murray South East (1) v Central (5)
2:40pm Southern (2) v Eastern (6)
3:50pm Murray South East (1) v Western (3)
5:00pm Long Bomb Competition

Finals Matches – Sunday July 9 (Johnstone Park, Murray Bridge)
8:00am Auskick Clinic
9:30am 3rd in group one v 3rd in group two
11:15am 2nd in group one v 2nd in group two
1:00pm Female Curtain Raiser
2.00pm 1st in group one v 1st in group two


Adelaide Plains FL
Barossa, Light and Gawler FA
North Eastern FL
Yorke Peninsula FL

Hills FL
Mallee FL
Riverland FL

Murray South East
River Murray FL
Kowree Naracoorte Tatiara FL
Mid South East FL
Western Border FL

Far North FL
Broken Hill FL
Northern Areas FA
Spencer Gulf FL
Whyalla FL

Southern FL
Great Southern FL
Kangaroo Island FL

Eastern Eyre FL
Far West FL
Great Flinders FL
Mid West FL
Port Lincoln

HONOUR ROLL – Champion, Best Player, Best U21 Player
1994- Eyre Peninsula (Western)
1995 – Southern Districts
1996 – Southern Districts
1997 – Eyre Peninsula (Western)
1999 – Eyre Peninsula (Western)
2001 – Mid North
2003 – Southern Districts
2004 – Southern Districts                  Matt Joraslafsky (SD)                      Adam Merrett (SE)
2005 – Southern Districts                  Justin Henscke (SD)                           Todd Miles (C)
Leighton Wilksch (C)
2006 – Central                                     Adam Merrett (SE)                             Ryan Darling (C)
2007 – Southern Districts                  Damien Stevens (MMB)                      Tyrone Hill (SD)
2008 – Murray Mallee                        Todd Miles (C)                                   Ryan Bennett (MMBB)
Barrier Barossa
2009 – Southern Districts                  Mitchell Portlock (SD)                        Greg Bain (Eastern)
2010 – Southern Districts                 Josh Vick (SD)                                  Ben Yeomans (C)
Ben Yeomans (C)
2011 – Eyre Peninsula (Western)    Matthew Woolford (N)                        Levi Konitzka (EP)
2012 – Southern Districts                 Tyson Wait (MSE)                              Tom Johnson (SD)
2013 – Central                                     Michael Liebelt (Central)                      Patrick Barrett (Eastern)
2014 – Murray South East                Liam O’Neil (MSE)                               Jack Kenny (EP)
Ben McIntyre (MSE)
2015- Southern Districts                   Jack Kenny (EP)                                Campbell Combe (Northern)
Xavier Watson (EP)
2016 – Murray South East                Brian Fenton  (MSE)                                    Campbell Combe (Northern)





Major Partner

Premier Partners

Outdoor Media Partner

Government Partners